SIlver Papa

I remember it like it was yesterday, the first time I got a 90% silver half dollar. It was my 12th birthday party and I was busy with my friends. At that time I was more worried about my friends than my Nana and Papa. My Papa hung out with us the entire time, of course he took a few naps on the back porch from time to time. In fact in the Picture I think he was enjoying a quick nap. He was there till the end of the party and thats when we had the talk, he said very softly, hey come here and let me show you something. at that point he pulled a 1964 half dollar out of his pocket and said, how much is this worth, I said come on Papa can you not see it? it says 50cents right there on the coin. (the entire time I was thinking great now his memory is gone). He said your right this coin is worth 50 cents but what if I told you it was actually worth $8.50. Sitting there thinking to myself this man has lost his mind it clearly says 50 cents on the coin and thats when he dropped it on me and told me that 90% of the metal content was silver and silver was worth way more than the face amount of the coin.

camera 157.JPG

So at this point he had my attention, He told me that any coinage beside pennies and nickels that where made before 1965 contain 90% silver and where worth way more than their face value. Then he handed it to me and said Happy Birthday always try to find more. Now this half dollar stayed with me and in my mind every day and over the next few years I was able to find some more just by going through my moms pocket book. Now My dad is a stacker and he has help me a lot with my stack But my Papa helped me understand why it is important to have silver.

camera 226.JPG

So As much as my dad @raybrockman has helped me with collecting silver I owe it to my Papa for making me understand the value of it. he is truly the best Papa someone could ask for.

P.s. He just woke up from a nap in this last picture as well.

Thank You for reading.

Peace out @sidewayzs13

Sort:  

When a dollar is not a dollar, like the story and the sentiment is good. I love the Kennedy silver halves. Enjoy your stacking bud and please do share more stories as this is one I will remember.

I am sure Papa has learned to sleep with his eyes opened😉😂. Good post son.

Thanks Pops, I bet he can sleep with his eyes open lol

Those old fellas always know a thing or two about a thing or two. And why am i not surprised that Papa Brockman is the original stacker!!!? Funnily enough, my granddad had a badass collection and i do believe it was his stack that initiated my original thirst for the lustrous shiny — and to have a big stack.

Great story sidewayzs!

He collects coins, So I guess you could call him a stacker. I don't think he has any bullion though. Thank You

A priceless lesson learned! Grandpa's rule! 👊

yes they do, Thank You

You're a lucky guy!!! Your dad is a really great guy!

Thank You, Yes Sir He's Alright. lol

I gave him a good plug in a post I did today! I didn't know he was another "old guy" (I'm 72) I thought he was in his 30's or 40's for some reason!

My grandad got me into stamp collecting which i enjoyed for years but i wish it was coins back then because the stamp market is pretty much dead now!

I have never had any stamps. Thank You

Good story man. Wish I would have been blessed early. Had to find out for myself lol

I am Thankful that My Papa and Pops have help me understand the value. Thank You

Your post is very useful and beautiful.....nice information about steemit.....i appreciated it....

It wasn't about steemit,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89