Need to vent.....

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Evening folks....

I thought that I’d be over it today, but for some reason it won’t keave my mind.

The last four days have been utter HELL for me.

1C2418E6-6E23-4C9D-A96A-44827227AFA1.jpeg

What I thought was going to be one of my epic installs of the year turned out to quite possibly be the worst install that I can ever remember. None of which was my direct doing, but it all landed square on my shoulders.

Ok, where to begin....

I started an install of a rather big and very unique kitchen that had a very open floor plan, which gave me a great opportunity to knock this one out of the park. But..........

The entire first day was ripout and set up for the next day. Was a long day but I thought that I was set for the next day. Had all my cabinets lined up and waiting for the electrician to arrive later that night. The electrician was a relative of the homeowners and was coming over after work to run the wires in the walls and in the cabinetry.

The wife wanted an entire wall of smoked glass upper cabinets, with two ground up curio cabinet style end cabinets. All of these cabinets were getting low voltage lighting in them.

I had all the cabinets lined up and marked for him, he was going to drill the holes and snake the wires through leaving me a bunch of play for an easy install. Well........

So I get there Friday morning.......

Started install the main kitchen base cabinets, not looking at any of what the electrician did the night before. That wall had no plumbing and was across from the main kitchen work area, so it was going to be the last cabinetry installed.

After busting my ass all day, around 8:00pm I’m about to call it a day. But I always set up my next day before I leave, so I walk over to the wall of glass cabinets and see these monster holes in the back of the cabinets. Not only are they huge, about the size of tennis ball, the holes are all splintered out inside from the drill bit. The backs of the cabinets are 1/4” furniture grade plywood. It takes almost no effort to drill through them with a sharp bit or hole saw. The electrician either used to much force drilling or had very, very dull bits, which destroyed the backs of my cabinets.

I started freaking out at what he did to my work. Both the husband and wife came in asking what the problem was. I showed them all the damaged cabinets. The wife went nuts as well, freaking out on the husband, about his cousin the electrician.

They get him on the phone, and he lies his ass off saying that I didn’t leave him holes so he had to drill them instead. So now this all fell back on me when we all agreed the day before that he wanted to drill them. Everybody got amnesia of that and blamed me. So now the wife is freaking out on me saying all the cabinets need to be fixed or I’m not getting paid.

So now I had to take six upper cabinets and two ground up all glass cabinets back to the shop to replace the backs on them. Because I had rented a 36’ box truck to delivery them which was returned the day before. I now had to make two trips 54 miles round trip to get them back to the shop. Not only that but the ground up cabinets need to be wrapped extremely well so the glass doesn’t break.

Half way back to the shop with the two big cabinets it starts to hail. It’s cold and windy. About five miles away from the shop I hear glass shatter. Now I’m not only totally exhausted but about to freak the fuck out......

So instead of finishing an install on Saturday as I was suppose to do, I was now replacing the backs on the upper cabinets. I also had to replace the side panels of the two ground up cabinets because pulling the backs off ruined the sides of them which where finished.

I worked straight through the entire night working on them Friday into Saturday. Around 2:00pm I brought the ground up cabinets to my glass guy who was doing me a favor since they are closed on weekends to put two new pieces of glass in the cabinets that broke. At about 6:00pm I made the first trip back to the job with the upper cabinets, the entire time I was there the wife was going insane on me. After unloading I went back to get the two ground up cabinets from my glass guy. We spent almost an hour wrapping them to ensure they made it without breaking again.

I got back to the job just before 900pm with the two cabinets. Unloaded them and told the husband I’d be back in the morning to finish. I asked what’s the earliest I could get there? He said anytime after 7:00am.

Fast forward to Sunday morning now.

I’m almost finished installing the wall of glass cabinets, when the electrician shows up. The first thing he does is starts freaking out on me. It took everything I had not to beat the FUCKING SHIT out of him. But all I had left was the crown molding on top of those cabinets and I was done. So I ignored him to the best of my ability. The entire time he was rushing me to get done so he could attach the fixtures.

Thank god I always put in my contracts to people I’ve never done work for before that the final payment is in cash, no checks allowed. After the bitch wife and scumbag electrician went over my work I got paid and left.

This was the job from hell. I will NEVER go back to that job and sorry folks but didn’t take any pictures of the job either to share with you. What should’ve been one of my masterpieces of the year, turned out to be most likely the biggest nightmare job I can ever remember.

The entire day today all I kept thinking about was that job. So maybe writing this post out will let me release it. I hope so, because I haven’t slept in three days now and need some sleep......

Goodnight all....

Sort:  

Holy man! That was a nightmare. Hope you never have another job like that one.

I was in complete disbelief for days. I still can’t even believe it happened.

Thank you for using CryptoSicko the sickest delegation and subscription upvoting on Steemit. Full details can be found at @steemcryptosicko

Good lord my friend. That's miserable. Go get some rest now!

Jobs like this make me want to find a new career....

Man, that's terrible. I can't stand it when people do shoddy work. It's even worse when you get blamed for it. Hopefully you're able to release it and move on now. They're in the wrong, but you don't want that eating at you. I hope things start looking up for you! Even though it's very small, here's a 100% to help you out. :)

Either way I get screwed, because I had to fix it. The tearout was really bad. With glass cabinets it would’ve looked horrible. But being blamed then get freaked out on was inappropriate.

“Hell is other people...”

~ Sartre

Dude you have no idea.....

...sounded shitty.

OH... my bestie! You deserve to rest up! It is all behind you now, and you do not need to see those people again. It is unfortunate that some people are unreasonable and mean-spirited at times, and cannot resolve mtters without freaking out. There are so many monied small minded people in this world, and just makes them so rude! Anyways.... go to sleep. Tomorrow is going to be a good day!

I’m still in disbelief of the entire thing. But I need to focus on the job at hand. It was an absolutely beautiful job, wish it wasn’t for complete assholes. I really wanted pictures of that one completed. Thanks bestie, I’m in the shop trying to make it happen.🌹

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Yowsers, good riddance to that deal!

Complete garbage. I hope the universe gives you a break starting today. Hang in there!

Never again I hope. Write things down but that is afterwards ofcourse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87