Fun new purchase!

Recieved an uplifting package today! One of the items in the package was an ingot I have yet to come across. I am not saying it is exceedingly rare. It seems like it is one of those ingots that you overlook when purchasing other well known refiners. I did find a few eBay sales on worthpoint.com. Sadly, I have been unable to identify the mint/refiner who produced these ingots.
image
image
^ COA 10.588oz Silver Ingot. It is a very thick with horizontal landscape.The pour lines are outstanding on the reverse side. I originally thought the 6 digit number was a serial number. It actually seems to be the date of production! January 20, 1982.
image
^ The obverse side shows individual letter stamping of the word silver. As well as a weight stamp accurate to the third decimal. The font of the 999 purity stamp looks to confirm production during the 1980s.
image
image
^ Added style points.... This ingot demonstrates a nice looking "pigtail". If you look at the side edge of the bar. There is a clump of silver hanging off. Which is also known as a "pigtail". It is a nice feature that certainly enhances the charactor.

If anyone has any information at all regarding this ingot. Feel free to comment! In my opinion, the charactoristics of this ingot rank it close to a full package ingot. Keep your eyes out for similar ingots!

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Sweet bar, i really like the look of this bar. The vintage bars have so much more character, instead of perfection. When i first started collecting bars n stuff i stayed away from imperfections. Now that's what i look for to have something different.

That is an interesting point @firecajun9262! My focus has changed many different times through out my collecting career. There are many influences that push you towards new directions. That is what makes this so fun!

Living and learning. I had never seen a bar with pigtails and that is a very smooth one.

Yes! Very collectable feature. Seen on this stye type ingot.- Chubby

That’s one sweet vintage bar my friend. Wish I could help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85