Put my new tool to work!

I recently acquired a fantastic example of an Arizona Assay Office Silver Ingot. To give a little back story on it. The individual I purchased it from had purchased it out of Southern California about six years ago. He mentioned to me he pulled it out of the "melt bin" at his LCS. I always enjoy hearing the stories associated with these older ingots.

After I recieved the bar I immediatly put it next to the only other similar 5oz class Arizona ingot I own. To my surprise there were some drastic differences!

image
^ This photo shows most of the story here. The 4.89oz ingot on the left is the recent acquisition. That ingot demonstrates one ring around the Arizona Assay Office hallmark. While the ingot on the right shows the more traditional double ring around the hallmark. The 4.89oz also has an 'S' stamped above the hallmark. On rare occasions that style 'S' has been seen before and after the serial number. This is the first time I have seen it in this location.

The most prominent difference between these two ingots is the mold size. Both ingots are very close in weight. There was clearly two different molds used during production. The 4.89 is thinner and has more surface area. A couple weeks ago I posted an article here about a new tool I had been using. Here is the perfect scenario! When dealing with old ingots it's very important to document and compare. This is the tool for the job!

image
image
image
image
image
image
^ This digital caliper allows you to measure in different increments. I typically use millimeters. Now that I have the measurements documented. I can then research the other know 5oz class ingots and compare similarities to the results here.

This is just another aspect of why this hobby/obsession/addiction is so much fun. Not everyone would take things to this level. I just happen to know a lot of people who do😅. It is what I enjoy doing and keeps me out of trouble!

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

Cheers!

Sort:  

Nice set of calipers!

Thanks @sirstacksalot! $40 at Home Depot🔥

The digital caliper is as important to the stacker/collector as is the scale or the loup.

That is a handy tool. I have one, i mainly use it on my American silver eagles. "Your only as good as your knowledge and tools"

Isn't that the truth!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you steemsilvergold

Calipers are important, and the digital ones are really a lot nicer to use.

Man you have some fantastic bars in your collection! Keep the posts coming!

The digital ones are amazing! Appreciate that @fat-elvis. I plan on keeping them comming. 👍

You have the most interesting vintage bars. I’m soooo jealous

Appreciate that man. Took a lot of time and money to aquire these. Let me know if your ever in the market to buy some. I'd be able to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85