Shipwreck Silver! THE REAL PIRATE BOOTY

We all have heard about stories of great treasures and silver lost at sea due to shipwrecks.

From many collapsed ships, silver has been recovered.

The stories behind shipwrecks are interesting and the history surrounding the silver is fascinating.

One such ship is the Spanish ship El Cazador that was lost at sea in 1784.

It was discovered on the floor of the Gulf of Mexico in 1993 by a group of fishermen.


Presenting...

A genuine Spanish silver coin from the wreck of the ship El Cazador

NGC Shipwreck Certification




"Pieces of Eight" 1873 MO FF Mexico Reales

Type: Milled Coinage, year 1973

Composition: Silver

Obverse Description: Armored bust of Charles III, facing right

Reverse Description: Crowned shield flanked by pillars with banner, normal initials and mint mark

Obverse Legend: CAROLUS • III • DEI • GRATIA •


I hope you enjoyed this coin, as much as I did showing it to you. I will see you again soon!

@silversaver888

Sort:  

Very nice! A real treasure from the sea.

Indeed, this is a real treasure. I do have another shipwreck silver, and will show it next Sunday! How are you? I hope your Sunday has been great! Take care.

Great. Looking forward to it!

My Sunday has been a blast. Or rather, got blasted...haha. Had an intensive sparring session. Got the blood pumping!

Oh yes! I like it! I would probably bust it out of the slab so I can feel it 😁 What does milled coinage 1973 mean? Great post sweetie! See you next time, my SSFL👊💗

I love it when you are thorough, and thanks for catching that. It is a typo, and I just changed it to the correct date of 1873. Milled coinage is made using a large screw press worked by rotating a weighted lever that pressed an upper and lower die together with a blank planchet between them. In 1732, they stopped hammering the dies onto the planchet.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I appreciate the support that you give me, @ssg-community!

You got a 2.31% upvote from @upme thanks to @silversaver888! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

that is true pirate Treasure! Very cool Thanks for sharing! We need some of this in our lives!

Indeed it is a true treasure, this shipwreck silver coin! Thanks for stopping by, take care.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

It is amazing that a silver coin that stayed on the bottom of the sea for more than 200 years is not mostly corroded. What a work of reconstruction!

Yeah... the sea water makes silver turn really black, unlike gold which remains and maintains its luster even for hundreds of years in seawater.

@silversaver888 I have always loved shipwrecks and the story of the El Cazador is one of my favorite tales. Just another example of how one event can shape oh so many more. Congrats again on your win my friend! Thanks for sharing!!

I so want so shipwreck silver or gold in my collection thank you so much for sharing

Shipwreck silver is very much wanted by stackers for their collection! ANd you should have one, @corndogg42!

A great historical coversation piece. I got to get one of these one day, just not yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10