What Silver Bullion to Stack: Two types of Bullion, My Choice of Silver Bullion

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

There are two types of bullion- be it gold, silver, platinum or palladium.

Both types of bullion have advantages and disadvantages which must be understood and considered if one is to make a serious and wise choice in precious metals stacking that fit one's personal financial needs and goals.

In buying silver for stacking purposes, I have an option of choosing either sovereign or private bullion.

A sovereign issued bullion coin is struck by a sovereign government mint and have an enforceable denomination in local currency.

In this article, I will show five of my ten favorite sovereign or government-issued bullion.



The Mexican Silver Libertad is produced by the national mint of Mexico, La Casa de Moneda de México. The oldest operating mint in the western hemisphere, the Mexican Mint was established in 1535.

2016 Mexico Silver Libertad MS70 First Strike, Flag Label



The reverse features Winged Liberty, a symbol of freedom and justice during the Mexican Revolution against the Spanish colonial rule, and the Mexican volcanoes Popocatépetl and Iztaccíhuatl in the background.



The obverse features the national shield of Mexico surrounded by different coats of arms used throughout Mexico's history.



The Australian Silver Kookaburra is the longest running bullion program from the Perth Mint. The Perth Mint is Australia's official bullion mint and wholly owned by the Government of Western Australia. Along with the Royal Australian Mint, which produces coins of the Australian dollar for circulation, the Perth Mint is the older of the two mints issuing coins that are legal tender in Australia.

2016 Australian Kookaburra MS70 First Strike, Flag Label




Since it's first introduction in 1990, the reverse featured a diferrent design depicting the Kookaburra on the face of the coin every year.


The obverse of the coin bears the familiar face of England's Queen Elizabeth II, the nation's longest serving monarch.



The Chinese Silver Panda is the silver bullion coins issued by the People's Republic of China that is minted by several Chinese government mints in Shanghai, Shenyang and Shenzhen. The design of the panda changes every year and are minted in different sizes and denominations, ranging from 0.5 troy oz. to 1 kilogram.

2016 Chinese Silver Panda MS70 First Strike, Flag Label




The reverse of the coin features a different design of the panda that changes every year with the exception for 2001 and 2002 coins which have the same design.


The obverse depicts the Temple of Heaven in the center with Chinese characters on top "中华人民共和国" thaat means "The People's Republic of China" and the bottom the year of issue.



Another notable silver bullion from the Perth Mint is the Lunar Series coins that depicts the 12-year cycle of the Chinese zodiac.

2016 Australian Silver Lunar Monkey MS70 First Strike, Flag Label



The obverse of the coin depicts England's Queen Elizabeth II, while the revers features the animal of the year on the Chinese Lunar Calendar.


Last, but certainly not the least, is THE AMERICAN SILVER EAGLE, the official bullion coin of the United States. It is considered the best and therefore, the most popular silver bullion coin in the world. The U.S. Mint is the only producer of legal-tender coins in the country.

2016 American Silver Eagle MS70 First Strike, Flag Label



The obverse features Liberty walking confidently westward toward the setting sun with the American flag draped around her shoulders.


The reverse features the Great Seal of the United Sates, 13 stars representing the original colonies, and the Bald Eagle behind the heraldic Shield of America.

I chose the American Silver Eagle as the foundation of my silver stack.


Reference sources used in this article: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7


Thank you for reading this article, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did putting it together for you!
@silversaver888

Sort:  

Great info on these coins Saver!
Cheers! 😎👍👍

I like Maples a lot, marginally higher purity, lower premiums, hologram security engraving... and if the US Federal goons ever decide they want to seize "their silver", Maples are not "theirs" :P I think I will add some Maples in my SDIRA when I do that next spring ;) :D

Maples are good! Boring af after ya have a bunch of ‘em, but good bullion to hold 👍

Nice. Very focused on the collection, with consistent flag labels and MS70 rated coins.

Thanks Khamen! How have you been? Have I been missing you in my daily feed? I appreciate you coming by and leaving a comment. Have a great week to come! Take care.

I have been travelling for about two weeks, so not as much time online. It has actually been refreshing, staying offline and enjoying time with family, staying in the present.

Great selection of sovereign / government-issued bullion. I am from Midwest USA, so naturally, I stack American Silver Eagles. I get Libertads and Canadian Maples as often as possible.
I get Lunars, Pandas and Kookaburras rarely, but I make sure I get at least one of each annually.
Like I said, very good choices for government-issued bullion.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you, @ssg-community for your continued support!

I love the Libertads, i do also collect the lunar s and kooks but am losing interest in them. Had a disaster with spotting on pandas they suck!!!! But I stack no graded eagles.

Got a BUNCH of non-graded Eagles. I did my "DYODD" and the very bestest stackables for a future Bull Run in Silver are the lowest premium bullion you can get. In 1980, they were melting NUMI's cuz Spot went up so high. The premiums ppl pay now will evaporate in a true Bull Run. Oh YES!

Vote Slider is still jacked, I promise I will make it up to you young Sadie Savers! ;)
Great Choice, Sovereign Coin is the way to go for certain reasons. One reason, and the Biggest I can See, is that the Sovereign COIN Bullion is allowed in an IRA. I am thinking about a big (for me) Purchase next spring when I can roll over my 401A into an SDIRA. The precious metals IRA can be SELF-Held in your own safe or vault. Security is "no problem"

😛 😜 😝

YUGO M70-1-1.jpg
Yes, that is a Cali-NON-Compliant 30 round magazine, and I also have 3x - 75 round drums for that...

It seems that the enforceable denomination in local currency is always much lower than its true value in today's market. If the market goes up significantly, then the printed denomination is way too low. In gold, this is also true, to a greater degree.

I didnt think the Libatad had a face value

Like the Krugerrand, the Mexican Libertad is a perfect coin. "The Libertad, unlike most gold and silver coinage in the world, does not show a face value; it shows only a weight. It can therefore change in value daily, assuming that the Mexican government were to also create a standard by which the Libertad prices could be calculated each day as the prices of gold and silver fluctuate." This quote taken from Jeff Thomas in his article: "The Mexican Libertad: The Currency Solution?"

A really beautiful set of bullion coins, all graded MS70! Congrats!

Thanks, @ronaldoavelino! I hope to feature the next set in a future article. What is your favorite silver bullion coin? I appreciate you coming by! Have a wonderful week to come, my friend.

By far my favorite bullion series is the Queen's Beasts series.

You got a 3.39% upvote from @upme thanks to @silversaver888! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71