Launch of Steemit Communities & #steemsilvergold


Hello SteemSilverGold, today I was listening to @pennsif's interview that he uploaded on Monday the 14th. I like this guy's style and I think he asks a lot of good questions to get the best information from his guests. On this show, he had elipowell and roadscapre to talk about SMT's and steemit communities. On the whole, SMT's are on test net and will be tested for at least 3 months. Communities on the other hand which I have been looking forward to for almost 2 years sound that a shitstorm coming to steemit. The idea's behind communities is good and I think will create a better infrastructure for steemit to build on going forward. The problem is they say it's gonna cost 3 STEEM to create a community. Get ready for the shitstorm as every cunt and his dog starts up a community.

Communities for #steemsilvergold

I know that 100%, SSG will create a community when launched and I think we should all start looking into some of the options that we will need to decide on to be prepared. There is not a lot of solid information out there but there are a few things that we know.

From what I understand, steemit communities are best compared to a subreddit. A hard fork is not required to add them in and a new steemit account has to set up to create a community. Whoever sets up the account is the community administrator, basically the community owner. This person can then make other user's moderators that would help with the running of the community. With SteemSilverGold I would assume that the private keys for the community account would be shared between 2-3 trusted members that would run the account for the community. We already have moderators in place so no worries there.

A fresh start for #steemsilvergold

Apart from that, everything is still pie in the sky. It sounds like we will be able to customize the interface a little bit but only basic visual stuff and nothing technical. I think that we should take this opportunity to make a fresh start for steemsilvergold. I am assuming a few things here so I might be wrong. I would assume that to become a member of a steemit community a user has to be accepted by the admin are a mod. This would replace the current SSG recruitment process as I assume there will be a "Join Community" button somewhere. This will give admins are mods the choice to either accept are decline users' membership to the community.
This could be a fresh start for #steemsilvergold has been waiting for. If every member has to go through a brief screening to get added into the new community, then we will shed a lot of dead members and members that are abusing Precious. This could be a brutal process leaving 50-60 members out of the 160ish we have now. Just being active within steemit is not good enough anymore and we should focus on precious metal stackers. This gives us the chance to rebuild our core members. This is something I have been looking forward to for a long time, so long that I had given up on the idea of steemit communities. I can not wait until these are launched.

ABUSE

Of course, there will be abuse with the cost of these things said to be 3 STEEM. I mean that's only 50 cents which in the UK is not enough to use a public payphone are even buy a roll of toilet paper. It's nothing and opens the doors to thousands of scam communities popping up. Anyone will be able to start 100 communities for 300 STEEM are $50 which is insane. I would have thought the price to start a community should be at least 500 STEEM if not more and maybe even a yearly fee as well. The price is to low and opens the doors to bullshit scams. I'm not sure what #newsteem's take will be on this as this will also bring in an influx of pure carbage content and community promotors to the eco-system.

I look forward t these being released and think they will provide perfect timing for the #steemsilvergold community to have a rebirth

Let's get the ball rolling and get looking into this because it's something that we will want to be part of and no better time to start than now. Feedback folks, please

Sort:  

I would have to agree with Buggs on this one, would much rather be the BEST then the FIRST. Definitely could be a fresh start or a rebirth of SSG. 3 STEEM is pretty cheap but I guess the more communities you have doesn't mean much! Kinda like tags you can create as many tags as you want but that doesnt mean they will get looked at.

If communities replace tags in then i guess it does not matter how many there are. It'll prob still be a few months

I don’t know much about the whole thing... but I wonder if it would be possible for some turd to come along a take our community? For only three steem someone else could create “steem silver gold” and then try to charge us $$$ to get the name back. Maybe it wouldn’t work that way. 🤔

We might a problem.

The account owner is @someguy123

Huh?

The recovery account for "steemsilvergold" is @anonsteem - meaning someone purchased it through https://anon.steem.network

Sorry, all i could find was that the user name had been bought by a service you ran.

Agree, I hope they rethink the price of entry for new communities. Way too tempting for squatters at that rate.

Posted using Partiko Android

3 STEEM is an invitation

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Why would this be bad if there would be a million communities?

scam/spam fest

they die off and the strong survive

I'll wait and see before voicing my opinion. Can't wait for the steem-police to continue policing communities that don't want to be policed.

I'm sure they will have a few thoughts. Should be interesting and dramatic

I love drama... Better get out my ¡popcorn

As always...Big brother !😀

Thats my concern also.... When I heard that this will require another Hard Fork .......
So many new " rules " are snuck in under HF's........

No hard fork needed they said to add communities.

They will need to hard fork when they want to llaunch SMT's

Thats good to know @silverstackeruk, I kind of cringe when I hear Hard Fork!
I want Steem and steemsilvergold to grow, and every time we fork it's like a bomb goes off....
Have a good weekend!!!😀

Definitely something to look into. I firmly believe it's more important to get it right rather than get it quickly, so lets not rush it.

There's nothing to rush. Should be interesting to watch unfold if they don't increase the fee

It looks like I have some more reading to do. Haha!

So, is steemit trying to look like a form of reddit where you can get paid?

I think steemit has always tried to be like a reddit blog site.

It'll be interesting. Thanks for checking out my st man.

3 STEEM... that's insane. It should definitely be higher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71