Suggestions for a Scale to Weigh Gold and Silver

I'm hoping to get a few suggestions from the experts in the @steemsilvergold community about getting a good scale to weigh precious metals.

Up until about a year ago, my stacking mainly consisted of Silver Eagles, junk/constitutional silver, and the occasional Australian/Canadian/Chinese yearly release.

Shortly after becoming a member of SSG, I absolutely fell in love with poured silver!!

Now I'd like to get a good digital scale to weigh my trinkets, and since we have several guys out here who do their own pours, I assume you guys have used many scales in your craft. Not that I don't trust the people I'm buying from, but as the late, great President Reagan often said: "Trust, but verify".

I'd like you opinion as to which scale you use which ones you would recommend or even stay away from. If the expensive ones are good, I'm not afraid to spend a couple of bucks. On the other hand, if a simple food scale will do the trick, I'd be more than happy to buy the cheap-o and put the rest of my money toward more silver!

Thanks in advance.

$-Signature.png

Pricasso.png

Sort:  

You want to get a scale that has multiple units of measure. Specifically, for silver and gold you need to weigh in Troy Ounces, which is different than regular ounces.
Also, you may want to weigh gold in penny weight dwt. Some stores sell gold based on weight in dwt penny weight.
So, a food scale does not work. I bought an inexpensive scale. I see them at hobby shops and the local coin shops.

Thanks for the insight. I'll post the scale I end up buying.

Lighthouse has a series of different scales, all weighting in multiple units of measure. They are good and you can find the specifications on the internet. It is an original German company.

I will check them out. Thanks for the tip!

Brilliant Idea.. Go with your Instinct @sirstacksalot ..

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95