A New Pourer, A New Prototype!

SlackerLogoDwarfcopy2 copy.jpg

Hello everyone! I am so jazzed to have received a prototype piece from a brand new pourer in the community and it is one of his first attempts!

Now, I have seen several first pours from those starting out and let me tell you, this is not an art so easily mastered. There are some rules of thumb you must know about poured silver.

First, the smaller the piece, the harder it is to pour. Second, the type of silver used is a huge factor. Silver containing .999 or .9999 is much more forgiving than sterling or 925 silver. Third, sand casting can be a bitch! If the pour does not take, you have to start from scratch! Then there are all the other details of flux, temperature, humidity, the heating of molds and a slew of others.

This make the slightest success of any first pours a veritable miracle! Yet, Corndogg42 pulled of his first pours in all of the most difficult conditions.

Corndogg42 did a great job in his first pours using the worst conditions possible for the newbie. He went with sand cast pouring, used 925 silver, poured outside with wind currents and unpredictable factors. Yet, he succeeded!

IMG_0027.JPG

Introducing the "Cornpuppy, a mini corndog," the piece weighs in at only 10grams, made from 925 silver and poured in an a untraditional tree like configuration for multiple pieces.

As you can see, it is a fully formed corndog on a stick. I have to give the man respect for beating the odds on this first ever pour.

IMG_0026.JPG

He even made a custom tin compete with textured padding to hold the piece! The outer lid, not pictured here, depicts a humorous link to his name and piece. The texture of the corndog simulates the rough, imperfect surface of the actual surface of the outer shell of bread surrounding the dog itself, while the stick is quite shiny.

IMG_0028.JPG

Then there is the logo itself! I thought this was perfect for the personality and humor of the man who created the tiny corndog.

We had discussed the image to be used as his logo and COA for some time. His original picture choice was great, but with the help of Ag Scotts Kiwi, this became the final version. I absolutely love it!

IMG_0031.JPG

Then this little guy popped out of the package! A dragon! A total surprise! Corndogg really know me for sure! This little guy is going right up on my wall of treasures and will be apart of my future posts and videos for sure!

IMG_0029.JPG

But the Dog Man didn't stop there! He send me a spread of Dutch coins ranging in denominations! As a kid, I have collected a few Dutch nickles, but now I have examples from across the board! To cool Corndogg! Thank you so much my brother!

Keep an eye on this guy! His love for pouring will make him one of the greats someday and I am so honored to be able to say I have one of his first pours!

MafiaSteemitLogo2.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post and stack on my friends!

Slacker Stacker

Sort:  

So cool bro! Congrats! 😎 I definately need one... Or 6 😁

LOL Thats right @silvervessel go with the 6 pack cause one is never enough! :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

most awesome brother most awesome you just made my ego grow 3 times in size I don't know what else to say but thank you

Looks like corndogg did a great job on the corn dog! Very cool piece to add to the stack

I don't know anything about pouring but your article shows that @corndogg is on the way to be a master. Congrats @corndogg.

Congrats on the prototype brother!! I am so excited for you and for Corndogg42 doing so well!! I already told him I want one as well!! Plus, it come in a cool presentation case and I love great presentation! The pics really give a good look at it that video does not allow. Thanks so much for sharing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98