What is a Community Chest?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

SlackerLogoDwarfcopy2 copy.jpg

When I started Stacking I began with bars from a mint or other dealer. These bars were mass produced and are common among the silver community. I then progressed to stamped generic rounds and coins. It wasn't until I found hand poured silver that I heard a new term. The community chest and no, I am not talking about the game of Monopoly!

I quickly learned this was not some part of a game, but a quest for many of those in the silver community. However, I was still confused at to what a community chest actually was. Was it really a chest like the ones so commonly seen in pirate moves, or was it something else? What items qualified to be placed in this cache of wealth?

If you are new to stacking and collecting precious metals, then I have your answer!

IMG_0058.JPG

The community chest is a real wooden chest containing a wide variety of silver pieces from many different sources. A "Community Stack" can be one in the same, but also stored away in a safe or bank.

But, what qualifies a piece of silver to be deemed a "Community Piece" and added to such a special collection?

IMG_0046.JPG

The key word here is art. Mass produced rounds, coins and bars produced by cut dies and pounded out by the thousands using high speed machines do not qualify. The items in community chests are hand poured. They are made by artisans well skilled in their craft and each piece is a personal reflection of their work. However, there are a few exceptions.

Pictured above are examples made my Mrs. Vulcan (The Silver Saver bar.) The Vessel bar, poured by Silver Vessel himself. The Stacking Ag47 bar, poured by Ag47 himself. And, the Laura Blade bar, produced by MK Bars, but still a personal piece that represents her brand.

IMG_0051.JPG

Personally stamped items come in all sizes and shapes. Some can be as small as quarter ounce buttons like the New Years Eve collaboration efforts of Mr. and Mrs. Vulcan, Silver Vessel and Pit Bullion.

IMG_0047.JPG

Others can be as large as one ounce to a kilo! These bars weigh two ounces and represent the Metals Mafia and my very own Slacker bar, both poured by Pit Bullion.

But, logo bars are not the only items that make up a community chest.

IMG_0050.JPG

The community chest also holds art poured by members of the community, by several different methods, and all are made by hand. These pieces take hours to construct and their creators take great time and skill in cleaning, polishing and sometimes antiquing them.

The dragons above are made by Rix Metal Worx and The Bear. Both produce highly sought after pieces throughout the community.

IMG_0052.JPG

Here are two more examples of master worked silver creations! The Thompson Machine Gun was expertly poured by Skully's Corner and the six shooter by Silver to Burn. Both pieces take an honored place in my community stack and I have more on the way.

Let us not forget the ones who actually carve and create many of these molds like Mrs. Vulcan, AG Randall and Silverspoon22. Their efforts and artistic skill only add to the wonders of stacking and collecting.

In short, a community chest, or stack, is a collection of hand crafted pieces from a vast group of people that love creating unique forms from the precious metals. Many relationships are made through the trades and purchase to complete such collections and only serve to draw the community closer together.

SteemMafiaLogo.jpg

To those who are new and those who have been stacking and collecting for years...
Stack on my friends!

Slacker Stacker

Sort:  

Slacker that is one wicked looking box, my friend and you're really starting to pack it full of the most awesome silver by the nicest bunch of people I know ! Great post pal!😆👍stack on!

Thank you Kiwi!! They are a good bunch of people and I am very happy to have met you! Stack on!!!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Thank you so much for the upvote!! I do take time to make the best posts I can.

I am amazed by the beautiful collection you have and showcased here. It would have taken considerable time to stack these.

I does take time to build a collection, but it is a labor of fun and pride!! Thanks for your comment.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thank you for the upvote STAX!! I am very proud to be a part of this community!

Congratulations @slacker-stacker, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 17039 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4839.76. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow!! Thanks Bitgeek!! That make me feel really good that I wrote a decent post!! I am so new to this!!

Great post brother! Some high quality pieces from some high quality people! I love your treasure chest 💗 Looks old and authentic!

Thanks Vessel, I love the chest, but I have a long way to go before it rivals your collection!! Stack on brother!

Now that's how you do It! Friggin great post man!

If you had mentioned a community chest to me, I would have thought of Monopoly. Thankfully, you've done a solid job of explaining the concept. I don't stack, personally, but the stuff you have is pretty awesome. I like the detail in those dragons. You can see why they're so popular!

Thank you. I love those dragons.

Nice. Still misses a bullion bunker bar from our friend HiHo silver "deep in the Woods of the Pacific west coast".

Hi Ho is on my list of silver to buy, but I don't have limitless pockets! I have to be careful, but I will get to him.

This is a High and a good quality content keep up the good work, i love it

Thanks Crypto!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86