200% + profit??

Possibly!

43D9E2A2-BD4E-44E3-84DA-F10B18B248C3.jpeg

Just picked up this spoon at a vintage shop for $3. I'm fairly certain it is Sterling silver!

13AEB1A7-0C23-48D7-B557-C1F55B03E9D0.jpeg

Here's the thing though... It has no visible markings.

However, based on it's looks, feel, and an attached note I decided to buy it.

7B8D99B5-2993-4F1F-AB2C-F70F67A7249E.jpeg

There is no date on the note, but I'm guessing it's at least 50 years old. Based on the fact it seems it was a fairly significant gift or indulgence was my reasoning for suspecting the spoon is 925.

I don't have any acid to test it so I won't know 100% until I can pick some up, but its non magnetic, melts ice lickity-split and just has that silver "feel".

At any rate it's a cool old spoon, if it is Sterling then it's worth approx $9.90 at today's prices(!!!!). Either way, I think it was good buy!

Sort:  

What do you mean as "melts ice lickity-split"? Is that one of silver's properties?

Silver is one of the best (if not THE best) elemental heat conductors. When you place it on ice it is almost astonishing how fast it melts/cuts into the ice. If you have something with a relatively intricate design and place it on a ice cube the design will transfer almost perfectly.

I believe this is one of the main reasons silverware was made from sterling, if it was pure silver it would burn your hands almost as soon as you put it in a hot soup because it would transfer the heat so efficiently.

Try it out with a silver coin, you'll be surprised how fast the ice melts!

Nice find. I hope it turns out to be silver for you.

Thanks! Me too!

That could be a great score, and a nice bit of history too!

Yea I'm hoping it is legit, but either way its a cool old spoon!

Yea I'm hoping it
Is legit, but either way
Its a cool old spoon!

                 - stnwllstrtgc


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Do a specific gravity test. All you need is a set of scales and a tall glass of water

My scale only goes up to 200 grams, and cheaper/easier to buy and perform the acid than a whole other scale haha... But thanks for the suggestion!

Thanks Don Pit! hahaha

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85