You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: US Trade Dollar

For some reason the word going through my mind is "counterfeit" and it seems to me that counterfeiting is a federal offense. I didn't see anything on that coin from the pictures that would give any indication that it wasn't authentic and so I would have to believe it is intended or at least could cause some confusion. Did I miss something in the pictures?

Sort:  

There is no marking that I could find that indicated it was not real. The seller disclosed that it was a "commemorative" item, so no-harm-no-foul on his part. It was made overseas, so I doubt there would be any recourse should our government pursue it.

There may not be any recourse on the company that made it but that wouldn't stop the government from paying you a visit for possession of counterfeit money.
The law on reproduction for commemorative or play money when resembling US money is can be no larger than 75% of the size of the original currency that is depicted with the reproduction.
I don't know how large the original trade dollars were and so I can't say for sure how yours matches up.
More than likely nothing will have happen with you and this but you just never know.

Well, poop. Now, I dunno whether to take a blowtorch to this and try to deface it or melt it down, or just hope for the best. And here I thought I was simply getting a cool & interesting replica. 😕

I wouldn't do anything with it like that, just make sure you don't show it to anyone who works for the federal government, then you might have an issue. It is cool and interesting for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67