Replica of a 1910 Peso

Sometimes one comes across a replica of a famous coin, and this is one example. This isn't an actual silver peso, but a silver-plated brass replica, clearly marked as such by the seller. I bought it because it was cheap and still pretty, even though not an "authentic" vintage coin.

Peso1.jpg

The obverse (front) features a seated female figure on a horse with the rays of the sun in the background.

Peso2.jpg

The reverse features the national arms of Mexico — an eagle, devouring a rattlesnake.

Peso3.jpg

The detail is lovely! One day, perhaps I will find a good deal on an actual vintage peso such as this, made from 0.9030 silver! Until then, I will enjoy this replica.

This is also a good opportunity to caution readers that some sellers do not clearly state that their items are replicas, and try to pass them as valuable items. Always read the fine print!

ThanksForReading.png 😊

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

I do, and have several pieces of actual silver — this was just one oddball thing I got. 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Cool piece. Are you sure it's a replica? Usually it will be stamped copy or something to that effect. Either way, nice score!

@vgholdingsllc ~ Yes, the seller's page on eBay stated that it was a "decorative item" of silver-plated brass. But I thought it was such a cool looking item, and only a couple of dollars, so I got it! Thanks for confirming it's a nice score! I appreciate your comment! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94