Silver Eagle

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)
The American "Silver Eagle" is a coin minted by the US government and certified by the US Mint to contain 99.9% silver. Since it is the "official silver bullion of the US" [1] and a good opportunity arose to obtain one, I went for it.

SilverEagle1.jpg

The obverse (front) of the coin features Lady Liberty in a walking pose. This design was the brainchild of Adolph A. Weinman, who immigrated to the US in the 1880s at the age of 14 and became a sculptor. His "Walking Liberty" design was used on the US half-dollar coin from 1916 to 1947. Since it was "one of the most beloved designs of any United States coinage of modern times," [1] it was revived on the Silver Eagle bullion in 1986.

SilverEagle2.jpg

The reverse (back) of the coin shows the silver eagle from which the coin derives its name. The iconic symbol is shielded, with arrows in one talon and an olive branch in the other, and is holding a banner in its beak with the Latin phrase "E Pluribus Unum" ("Out of many, one.") inscribed upon it. Above the eagle is a triangle of thirteen stars which represent the thirteen original colonies ("states") that banded together to form the union that became the USA.

SilverEagle4.jpg

The edge of this beautiful coin is reeded, meaning it has parallel lines slightly impressed all around the edge for a more "finished" and pleasing appearance.

Lady Liberty is actually a Roman Goddess, Libertas, the personification of the concept of liberty. [2] Detail of Her can be seen in the following closeup photo:

SilverEagle3.jpg

ThanksForReading.png 😊

SOURCES

   1 Wikipedia: American Silver Eagle
   2 Wikipedia: Liberty (goddess)

SeeOtherPosts--SILVERGOLD.png

Sort:  

Walking liberty, fabulous coinage Kitty!

Posted using Partiko Android

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

howdy there thekittygirl! wow that design is my favorite, so classy! All I need is a chest full of those things. Let me know if want to get rid of some of them! lol. Excellent post.

Nice treatment of the ASE of silver bulluon!
😎👍👍

These are great coins. My father used to hand these out to all of his kids and grandkids every Christmas.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

That is a really beautiful coin and I have one to got it as a gift and I love it. Love the lady liberty 🗽❤️ thank you for sharing.
Much Love 🤗🤗

Love those my favorite. My brother got married last month and I bought him a stack of 2018s for his wedding. He loved it!

Hubby has finally gotten onto the collector's bandwagon and is looking at purchasing silver and gold coins. So now I am on the hunt to understand what is what, and what is not as it claims to be.

I just love the photos you take of the coins. It is amazing the detail you are able to show. And your nails are beautiful!!!!
Ren

Thank you! All photos are made with my cellphone, believe it or not. And that is my signature nail color! 😊

I just love how crisp and clear the photos are. Isn't it funny how photo cameras have changed! I mean when i was a kid in the 70's we thought the instamatics were fantastic!

I have a couple of these! Wish I had a whole lot more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99