Coin of the Day 10-30-18steemCreated with Sketch.

After yesterday's internet issues, it's been nice to have things going more smoothly today.

I started a series on some brass rounds that I got that were made by the Alaska Frontier Mint. If you aren't caught up, here are Post 1, Post 2, Post 3, Post 4, Post 5, Post 6, and Post 7

Today it's the Railroad!

image.png

I'm not an expert on Alaskan railroads, but I imagine they were a big part of the expansion throughout the state. Even in 2018 railroads still play a large part in the country's distribution system. The company that made these tokens might have been stretching a bit by incorporating this one though.

That being said, Alaska has had a lot of railroads. I was looking at railroads on Wikipedia, and I found this incomplete list of railroads that are no longer in service. So I guess they've had a few.

image.png

If you're interested in railroads that are operational, you can still get quite a few places by rail. It's not extensive, but if you're without a car, you can still get to most of the major cities by train.


source

And I'm sure there are stores in those cities that have train souvenirs to sell. A few of those souvenirs are better than others though. Remember this post from me earlier this month?


Lastly, the obligatory picture of the reverse of the token, The Big Dipper!

image.png


- When is the last time you rode on a train?


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I remember being on a train about 50 years ago...

But it sounds like you have been on one, so it still counts. If there were a contest, you'd be entered. :D

The front of that coin is sharp. I read a book by a guy who staked out a homestead in Alaska. He said the area was so remote, you had to wait alongside the tracks to catch the train.

The one and only time I've been on a train was in Birmingham, England and I loved it!

I can't imagine that it would be a "beach vacation" during the middle of winter, but I imagine the summers would be delightful.

Hopefully the train slows down enough that you don't trip and fall while trying to hop on.

Yay, trains!

wow sir Blondie can you imagine the scenery traveling by railroad in Alaska? That might be the way to go.

I can imagine it, and I think it would be a great time. I'd be happy to take a train ride through scenic AK.

yes sir me too, I think I better add that to the bucket list! that would make a great post too.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations @themanwithnoname! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87