Get your kicks on Route 66. #1 in the series Illinois Gemini Giant

This is a new series I saw on Apmex commemorating the Iconic Route 66 highway. This road has been memorialized in such works as "The Grapes of Wrath" and the song “Get Your Kicks on Route 66”by Nat King Cole. The Gemini giant is the 1st of an 8 coin series. The coin is made in the shape of a Route 66 Road sign and comes in an Air-Tite capsule.

Route 66 opened to travelers on November 11, 1926. It starts in Chicago, Illinois and travels 2,448-miles across the country to Los Angeles, California. Parts of the highway follow the Trail of Tears used by the Cherokee Indians in the late 1830's.

This coin depicts the first landmark on your westward journey across Route 66. Just outside of Chicago is a small town called Wilmington, Illinois. This is the home of the Gemini Giant. It has been standing there 30ft tall since 1965. Thousands upon thousands have stopped here to be pictured with the Giant. There is also a "Launch Pad" restaurant that the giant was used as advertising for. In 2007 it closed it's doors but the giant remained. In 2017 it was purchased by a private party and was scheduled to be reopened the spring of this year.

Thankfully this came with a case because I don't think it would be an easy one to come by. Here is the 1st coin of Route 66 series. Enjoy!

IMG_20180507_185014.jpg

IMG_20180507_185028.jpg

And here is a real life picture of the Gemini Giant to get some idea of it's size.

long-live-the-gemini.jpg

That's all I have for today, until my other packages arrive.

Proud member and supporter of #Steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

Cool piece with a cool story. Did you know that Route 66 was a TV series around 1960?

I did not know that. I'll have to google it and watch some episodes. That will give me something to do while I'm at work.

Cool piece, now you need to go take a pic with the statue when it reopens. lol

Not a bad idea. I just got the RV tuned up today and this guy is only 4.5hrs away. Hmm....sounds like a roadtrip.

Me too! Thanks for stopping by @thedamus.

I have this one and LOVE it. It is so weird & unique. I am wondering when the next one will show up and what landmark will be featured on the shield.

It's a crazy piece. I wasn't sure how I'd like it but now that I have it, I love it too. Thanks for the comment @dfinney.

That's cool, I like unusually shaped silver pieces. I like that it has a custom capsule too.

Me too. If it didn't have the capsule I don't think it would be nearly as cool. This way I can use it as a pocket piece without messing up the coin. Thanks for stopping by @cyber.explorer.

Boom 💥 💯 I want this and I need to go out of my way to visit this. It's not that far from me.

Awesome @armshippie. Thanks for the upvote. If you make it to the giant before me get a pic.

I definitely will bro!

Woah, that's super sweet!

I have a route 66 round from years ago, but that one is excellent!

I even drive quite a bit of route 66 years ago.

You'll have to post it. The only part of route 66 I've driven was between Albuquerque and Kingman AZ. Thanks for checking them out @fat-elvis.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for your support @ssg-community!

I like it!!! I seem to recall that there was a Route 66 round produced a couple of years ago but was a single, stand-alone round. I like the idea that the different landmarks along ROute66 will be features. Route 66 is an American iconic h-way. I may join you in collecting the series.

It should be a really great series. One day I hope to travel the full length of Route 66. Thanks for the comment @silversaver888.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64