Stopped at the LCS.....More Canadian Dollars.

Earlier I made a run up to Tractor Supply to grab some more Chicken food. It just so happens there is a coin shop "on the way home". It had been a few months since stopping at this particular shop. When I walked through the door these dollars were front and center calling my name. Let's check out the score.

1939 Royal Visit

This is the 2nd commemorative coin that Canada had out at the time. They made it to celebrate King George VI and Queen Elizabeth visit in 1939. The reverse of the coin depicts the Parliament building in Ottawa. It is 80% silver and had a mintage of 1.363.816 coins.

It did have a few varieties including a Double and Triple HP stamp under the neckline of George, a few flawed planchet strikes and also a Die cracked version. The one I have is just a regular strike.

IMG_20180509_203413.jpg

1949 Newfoundland entry in the Confederation

This coin is in beautiful condition. It has a picture of the sailing ship used by John Cabot called "The Matthew". This was the boat they used in the voyage to Newfoundland in 1497.

It has the lowest mintage of the 3 dollars I have, coming in at 672,218 coins. 2 error varieties are known. One being the double HP again and the other is a double TS near the ship. This looks like it may be a PL coin.

IMG_20180509_203424.jpg

1958 Death Dollar

Of the 3 coins this one has the craziest story. It's said the Totem has a figure of a Raven, which in some native tribes represented death. This was not discovered until after the coin was minted. The coin was actually put out to commemorate the 100th year of British Columbia being established.

This coin is also 80% silver with a mintage of 3,039,630. It has one known error coin being a Die crack on the word "Gratia" This coin is also in very nice condition with a very high relief on the Totem. Check this out.

IMG_20180509_203433.jpg

For $20 a coin I am definitely pleased with my purchase. I've been looking for a couple of these locally without much luck. I guess sometimes it's good to change up the LCS now and again. The guy at this shop is the one who got me collecting the Predator series and Birds of Prey. Should have know he would have some cool Canadian coins.

IMG_20180509_195958.jpg

Proud member and supporter of #Steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

Nice buys! I get all giddy when I find a King George dollar for sale, and my favorite silver dollar is the '49, but here that year normally commands a higher premium, I find the death dollars and the '39s, and the Charlottetown dollars in the junk bin, but never a '49.

He told me at the coin shop I would like it. Then I got home and started researching them. Really cool coin. And I didn't know about the death dollars until today. Now I want more of them. lol. Thanks for the comment @fat-elvis.

Super cool vgh! I’m happy to see the mintage numbers of those three beauties!

I tried to put some good info on here. Only started collecting the 80% Canadian recently so I'm kind of learning as I go. Thanks for stopping and checking them out @thedamus.

Nice Canadian dollars, i really like 1958 death dollar. My want list on Vintage Canadian coin list just got longer. Thanks for sharing

They are a really cool coin and the story was pretty crazy. Didn't know the background on it until tonight. Thanks for looking @firecajun9262.

You got a 1.56% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @vgholdingsllc! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vgholdingsllc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great score!
The death dollars are very cool, but I think that 49 steals the show! I mean how can you not love a coin that has a ship on it! Hahaha

It really is a nice looking coin and the ship is an added bonus. I was happily surprised when he said $20 each. I may head back and grab a few more. Thanks for checking them out @stnwllstrtgc.

Very Nice LCS Pick UPs..........I like the 1958

It is a beauty and probably my favorite also. Thanks for stopping by @stokjockey!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks @ssg-community for your support!

Nice pick-up!
I love the coin with the Matthew on it, it's one of my favorites that I have been coming across online, and is on my 'to get soon' list!

Thanks. It's a great coin. Good luck in your hunt for one @cyber.explorer.

I found one... and it will soon be mine!

I love all three coins!!! The designs are all very nice. Old Canadian coins are really pretty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98