SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook4 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Turning an ink drawing into a color vector image


misunderstood-1.jpg

The original pen and ink drawing was done in 2013. I don’t remember what inspired it now, but seeing it in an older sketchbook, I thought it would make an interesting image if turned into color.

My original drawing


sketchbook.JPG

So I drew a new sketch based on it, changing many things from the original. Then once I redrew it in my vector program, I added details and edited some shapes to work better.

The new sketch used to make the vector version from


misunderstood-sketch.jpg

The final piece is quite different from the original, with bold color and more connected shapes.

This approach is something new to me – reinterpreting my older drawings into colored vector pieces. I have turned a few into acrylic paintings as well.

©All rights reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped


footer.jpg

Thanks for checking out this SketchCrazed post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

Really interesting process, the hand in the center ties the two drawings together but the entire feel of the drawing changes dramatically. The original ink drawing feels very solid and tribal while to me (despite solid chunky shapes) the color version feels like an ethereal gateway with hints of other dimensions showing through

Thank you for the great description @carlgnash! I agree. Since I am not trying to make an authentic replication of the ink drawing, there is freedom to just develop what it can be. I like your idea of the color version being a gateway.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared for your upvote and resteem! I do appreciate it.

Congratulations @mrsomebody! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you so much @steemitboard! Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55