Robinson Cano Gets 80-Game Suspension For Failed Drug Test

in #steemsports6 years ago



SteemSports Presenter: @bbleehehh9
SteemSports Editor: @theprophet0

Shocking news came down out of Seattle on Tuesday that eight-time All-Star second baseman Robinson Cano had received an 80-game suspension, without pay, after testing positive for a banned substance.

The substance that he tested positive for, furosemide, is used as a masking agent. Also known as Lasix, it’s a substance that is used to mask banned substances during urine testing.

The 35-year-old stands to lose more than $11 million in docked pay during his suspension.

Cano was already set to be sidelined for the foreseeable future after he fractured the fifth metacarpal in his right hand when he was drilled by an 88 mph fastball from Tigers’ left-hander Blaine Hardy during the third inning of Sunday’s loss to the Tigers.

Fortunately for him, he can serve the suspension concurrently while on the disabled list. He’s slated to undergo surgery on his hand in Philadelphia on Wednesday and was expected to be sidelined until after the All-Star break anyways. Now he’ll be out until his suspension is up in mid-August.

Mariners’ general manager Jerry Dipoto said Tuesday that the club will shift converted center fielder Dee Gordon back to his natural position at second base to cover for Cano, and will look for outfield help outside of the organization.

Dipoto expressed his disappointment to reporters after learning the news of Cano’s failed test, "We are all disappointed. We just lost one of our best players. It's a hit. It's a hit to Robbie. It's a hit to our club, to the franchise in general and to baseball. This is one of the great players in the game...It's important to know that it's hurtful to our fans. It's one of those things that really leaves an impression. I felt that disappointment. I think you all have figured out that I'm an optimistic person by nature. And it turned into, 'All right, how do we turn this to as positive as we can and solve the problem?' And that's what I've been thinking about ever since."

Cano issued a public apology on Tuesday as well. In it, he admits that he took the substance in question, but denies any wrongdoing or malicious intent. "Recently I learned that I tested positive for a substance called furosemide, which is not a performance-enhancing substance… Furosemide is used to treat various medical conditions in the United States and the Dominican Republic. This substance was given to me by a licensed doctor in the Dominican Republic to treat a medical ailment. While I did not realize at the time that I was given a medication that was banned, I obviously now wish that I had been more careful… For more than 15 years, playing professional baseball has been the greatest honor and privilege of my life. I would never do anything to cheat the rules of the game that I love, and after undergoing dozens of drug tests over more than a decade, I have never tested positive for a performance-enhancing substance for the simple reason that I have never taken one."

He continued, "Today I decided to accept MLB's suspension," Cano said. "This was the most difficult decision I have ever made in my life, but ultimately the right decision given that I do not dispute that I was given this substance. I apologize to my family, friends, fans, teammates and the Mariners organization. I am extremely grateful for the support I have received during this process, and I look forward to rejoining my teammates later this season."

Even if you buy Cano’s story, which I don’t, ignorance of the law is not a viable defense. It’s up to the player to be responsible for everything that he is putting into his body. Even if you give him the benefit of the doubt and believe his story, he’s still at fault for being ignorant.

The Mariners have a strong roster from top to bottom and can find a way to absorb the loss of Cano and continue to battle for a playoff berth in the cut-throat American League West. Where it really hurts them though, is that Cano will be ineligible to participate should they make it to the postseason. A punishment that’s certainly justified given his crime.




Sort:  

yes....and see mine post yesterday..he's thirty pounds heavier than the 180 lb. 22 year old in NY. good post..

Also, he was on the Biogenesis list and is close friend of known PED user Melky Cabrera. That's why former teammate Mark Teixeira said he wasnt surprised at all when the news broke.

Canó released a statement claiming that he took Furosemide for medical reasons after a Domincan doctor prescribed it to him.
https://twitter.com/RyanDivish/status/996455050128998402/photo/1

Sure, That's what he said, but MLB only suspends for dieuretics if there's proof that it was used as a masking agent.

And even if it was legitimately prescribed to him, its still his responsibility to know what he's putting in his body.

"The 35-year-old stands to lose more than $11 million in docked pay during his suspension."
very sad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64