The steemSTEM meetup at the LHC - My Recap

in #steemstem-meetup6 years ago (edited)

0-min.jpg

Finally, it's time for my recap of the steemSTEM meetup at CERN/the LHC. It was so great, I barely know how to start, so I'll give you a rundown of the events on the 8th and 9th of February!

The full list of participants was (alphabetically ordered):

22 people!

8th of February

In the evening, @reggaemuffin and I met up with @grandpere , @fredrikaa , @lemouth and @galotta at the Geneva train station to then drive to the restaurant "Le Casanova" where we met everyone but @tristan-muller , @saunter and @ceybiicien .

@tristan-muller was supposed to arrive the next day, but @saunter and @ceybiicien were stranded in Freiburg! For them, an odyssey began, about which they'll probably write themselves.

The rest of us ordered some food and socialized, aided by the personalized name badges I had previously created for everyone.

@dber , the MVP, drove @reggaemuffin and me to our Airbnb. We had brought him some Kinder Eggs as a thank you (he's from the USA and Kinder Eggs are illegal), which resulted in the shadiest transfer of Kinder Eggs ever.

9th of February

1

At 10 am, we met at the "Globe of Science" and went inside to look at the exhibition.

2

They had multiple animations, interesting things to look at and a short movie every half an hour.

3

Look at all these people listening to @lemouth explain cool physics stuff!

4

At 11 am, @saunter and @ceybiicien finally arrived, exhausted from their complicated journey but happy to join us!

Outside of the globe, there was a model version of the LHC which looked quite cool.

5

After that, we went into the "microcosm" exhibition, which had even more info on the LHC, awkwardly dancing recordings and this neat thing:

6

7

Oh, and we shouldn't forget the cosmic ray detector, which detects cosmic rays and sends a representation of that to the "floor" of the entrance, which then lights up:

8

Lunch followed, where we ate at some Indian place I forgot the name of, maybe someone else remembers. They had cheese naan! It was so great!

Then we all got into the cars and drove to the LHC, the highlight of our meetup.

First, @lemouth held a short presentation (you can find it split into several posts on his blog).

9.2

9

And then, lead by the wonderful @freyablekman , we went ... down.

10

"This is elevator is your only way up, in case of a problem."

Not really something I wanted to hear (can you spot me?).

We saw smart, hard-working people ...

11

12

... blinking warning signs ...

13

...server farms to mine bitcoin collect data...

14

...something I really wanted to touch ...

15

... and finally, the CMS detector!

16

17

18

Gif

So many cables! Am I right, @howo and @reggaemuffin ? :P

19

I even got to take a picture of myself ;)

20

And an even better picture with the wonderful @scienceangel <3

21

After all that, several people left but the majority continued to spend the evening together.

We had a small scare, as suddenly @saunter and @ceybiicien vanished into thin air, nobody knew where they were and nobody was able to reach them. After all that had happened to them on their way to Geneva, it was a horrible thought that they were standing somewhere alone, in the snow.

Luckily, that wasn't the case, they had just checked into a hotel and @saunter even joined us a bit later.

All in all, it was a wonderful 2 days and I've still not fully recovered from all the positive emotions I've felt. I've never been surrounded by so many lovable nerds smart people who were just genuinely happy to be there and see each other.


Shout out to:

  • @dber who was always willing to drive people where they needed to be, despite sneaky speed bumps, small roads and a less than cooperative navigation system.

  • @howo whose first reaction upon seeing me was "SUESA! I CAN SEE YOUR FACE!" and will come visit together with @fredrikaa in March.

  • @scienceangel who's a biologist too and shared my missing knowledge of particle physics. We had a lot of fun anyway <3

  • @lemouth , for organizing all of this despite being already held together only by extreme stress and some bubblegum (and a super stylish red jacket :P )


I'm looking forward to repeating this, meeting everyone who was there again. Preferably as soon as possible!

EDIT: @alexs1320 reminded me of my favorite quote from that meetup:

STAY WITH THE GROUP OR YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG!


stem-update-02-12-18.gif

GIF was created for me by @saywha and @atopy , rest of the signature by @overkillcoin

Sort:  

Looking so beautiful in those pics @suesa! I had the best time of my life, I still cannot believe that I had the honor to meet and spend 2 incredible days with so many smart, young and successful people! I honestly hope that we can repeat something like this in the near future! ❤ ❤ ❤

And all the above inside the most sophisticated scientific tool ever built!

Absolutely <3

Looks like a interesting trip...hope to visit there someday!

You too are looking dam cute in the pics as your name suggests you might be a brilliant science student

Wow,you all had mad fun.. U look good in ur pics, I love steemit meet-ups and hangout, my team also is arranging a massive meet-up for Saturday.

Let's cool this one down a little bit, before start preparing plans for episode 2 :D

Are you kidding, I'm already planning meetups for 2030, you're never going to get rid of me again!

you're never going to get rid of me again!

That is fine, don't worry :D

Loading...

This is golden and looks much different than what I imagined. Seems like this may have been one of the Best meet ups thus far.

I agree with you @jpederson96. All have read brings a measure of nostalgia and you would just wished you were there to experience firsthand.

Really it seems like one of the best meet ups thus far.

Thanks for sharing @suesa

Super comment

Which is your favorite CERN phrase: "Don't touch!" or "Stay with the group!"

STAY WITH THE GROUP OR YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG!

"If you can't see me, you're doing it wrong." - Freya

Exactly!!!! :)

It is also totally warranted, one of the main problems we have on those tours is that people get so distracted by all the amazing technology that they lose the group. And it is a maze there, 100m underground. Also, you could only get out with my help :)

It was a pleasure to have made your acquaintance. Thank you for taking time out of your day to show us all around Freya.

I loved Freya so much, she made the whole trip even better

She was the unexpected bonus. She was supposed to be busy until the tour. And theorists suck in explaining experimental stuff :D

[still waiting for her username before creating her steemit account]

Tell her I think she's super great and inform me when she joins here, yes? :)

I will met her in person on Friday. We have to work together. I will insist a little bit :p

I'm here now :)

Yes you are! Now I can actually put your nickname in my post! Just in time.

Looks like you had a fantastic time, envious! The amount of cables is phenomenal..most of them look like network cables so maybe serial/network outputs from sensors/instrumentation?

Most of the cables are optic fibre in parallel and all individually tuned and synced. That alone is crazy!

They have a lot of info they need to transmit so yeah, you're pretty correct.

Looks like a blast, sure you mustve been psyched to check it out. Wish I couldve come, definitely a one of a kind trip!

It was wonderful!

When is the next meetup? That looks so exciting. Wish i was there. I love the pic with the cables. Makes me glad I'm in on crypto. Cheers!

We don't have a date or place yet, but it will happen!

awesome little experience, yea? Some of those pics gave me the goose tbh. Too many cables it all looked scary!

It is hart warming to see such a social an educational activity.

This is so good and looks much different than what I imagined. Seems like this may have been one of the Best meet ups so far .
i always wanted to be a part of steemit meet up , allthough i miss one chance .
when is next one
steemit like a family for us now

Did you also take a picture of CERN's most reliable detector - the flapping tape strip hanging from the air vent? :D
(Our group's tour guide was a hilarious Russian physicist with stoic humor)

Oh my, I didn't even see that! Do you have a pic?

And I'd be jealous of your guide if our guide hadn't been so great. :D

I have a picture indeed, but I have a lot of sorting to do first

I'll be patiently waiting

Is he Russian? I thought he was Hungarian?

I might have misheard that then, in any case he was quite a funny guy ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27