You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A pitcher plant ecosystem, or "I eat flies with a little help from my friends."

in #steemstem6 years ago

That makes perfect sense. You are cursed (blessed) with a 'big picture' view of the universe of life. Anything viewed in isolation yields information--viewed in a large context, it yields insight. Ecology is an interesting word. To some it refers to specific aspects of 'nature' (then again, nature is an interesting word also). But ecology, as you consider it here, refers to a system, with complex, not always clearly understood relationships and connections. It is hubris to believe we can foresee the consequences of messing with one small part of the system. Results are unpredictable, and sometimes catastrophic.

Also, I too thought of the mosquito debate, when I read your blog. I still regard mosquitoes with loathing, and yet recognize their "right" to exist, perhaps the necessity of their existence. But even as larvae these guys are parasitic. In the whole universe of creatures, these are among my least favorite.

A really good blog. As I prepare to write another, yours sets a model for how detailed, and readable, a blog should be.

Sort:  

I'm glad you liked it so much. I'm very much an abstractive thinker - I blame too many years of coding for doing that to my brain.

I never coded, and I tend to see relationships between things--I think my training in comparative literature pushed me further in that direction.

I never thought about it, but I can definitely see how that skillset would also lead to better abstraction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86