You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Q U A L I T Y of life. A post-Newtonian view.

in #steemstem6 years ago

You raised questions and introduced ideas I will be exploring later in greater detail. Basic perspectives of some traditional religions came to mind. Thoreau came to mind. Kant came to mind. You did meander, but what a rich, intellectual journey. It strikes me that I live the sort of lifestyle, without consciously deciding to, Niko Paech (new to me, thanks for that) suggests--although not completely. This is more a reflection of temperament. I remember when my husband first came to my apartment he was stunned because it was almost empty. It never occurred to me that I needed more than a few basic pieces of furniture. My first real job was at an airport. I had to take a bus and two trains, a very long commute, which would have been 20 minutes by car. But I never bought a car, which amazed my co-workers. I won't go on to catalogue the idiosyncrasies of my lifestyle, but obviously post-growth makes a lot of sense to me.
In the past two days I've read three extraordinarily rich blogs that wouldn't be on any other social platform besides Steemit. This is a unique environment, and you prove that again with this post.

Sort:  

Thank you so much. I know you read the whole thing.
I hope you can find some English sources on Niko Paech ... guess he holds some lectures on youtube not only in German. I only found this one:

I am happy to read that you already have reduced your lifestyle to the max so to speak :)
You don't seem to miss anything in it or make sacrifices which hurt, do you?

Yes, it is indeed a unique environment here, I agree.

Of course I read it all--I have a kind of meandering curiosity that takes me down many roads. I can attempt to read Niko Paech in German. Since joining Steemit I've been practicing my German reading skills, took many university courses in the language, and in Spanish. Sometimes Google Translate is also a good assist.

There's no sacrifice in a simple lifestyle. Doesn't take a lot to be happy.

See you around Steemit, no matter the price of Steem. I like it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87