You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT EXACTLY DO THE BORG ASSIMILATE?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Basically, all human encounters are characterized by influencing each other

In a way, it reminds me of a wisdom my mother used to drill into us: Be careful of the company you keep. She didn't mean this so much as a danger to reputation. It was more a recognition of the influence others have on us. This is something we think we can ward off, but I think you're right, and my mother was right, everything in our environment influences us.
In a professional capacity, as a teacher, I had to be alert to subjective reactions I had to students. Perhaps they reminded me (subconsciously) of a child I didn't like, or did like, many years ago. So, when reactions to students seemed inordinately strong--either positively or negatively--I had to exert some conscious control over my behavior. Also, I had to be aware that they might respond to something I said or did--or perhaps to the way I looked--because this triggered something in their minds.
A very interesting piece. Hard for me to read without hearing your intonations at certain points. :)

Sort:  

Thank you. Yes, everything influences us, so also the things we take up unconsciously and may not be aware of. So it is good to be selective, I agree.

You give a good example where psychology made the general public aware of that people, situations etc. can trigger a memory or flash of a memory towards a current situation or person we perceive as uneasy (or easy, it goes the other way, too as you also mention) and we even do not know where this comes from.

But what we are aware of is the emotion itself. When a dislike becomes so strong that it causes suffering one should have the means to refrain from it and to find the methods in doing so. The example of teacher and student particularly concerns parents with smaller children as they have to trust the staff at school that they mean it well. Working with young people is somewhat easier cause they haven't yet so much unconscious memory "stored" as adults. This is what I experience in my profession as I work with different age groups. When my appearance is a blank page to the young this makes working together much easier.

My responsibility is to see my flaws and dislikes and not act them out upon my clients.

Has it ever been the case that you felt you could not work any more with a student? Or that you were accused of having your favorites?

No, I was never accused of having favorites. Of course it was hard to resist liking students who responded to my teaching. Most of my students were very vulnerable. They were placed in my school because they were depressed, or had similar psychiatric issues. So I had to be especially careful to created an atmosphere that was safe and reassuring. The hardest part of my job was remaining dispassionate with cruel students, those who tried to bully others. To deal with that bullying and not get angry is a challenge. I'm not sure I always succeeded.

That was quite a responsible work.
It's human to fail sometimes and become frustrated or angry and even clueless to a situation. We must accept that things sometimes just go not well. But I guess for the most part you were a good teacher and when you were in the same way attentive you are now, your students sure were fine with you. I most respect this work where one is responsible for so many souls. It should be honored more. I've heard in Japan teachers have a much higher respectable onlook than in western nations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67916.87
ETH 3819.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67