You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposed purple prehistoric planet. Possible? Preposterous? Perhaps.

The hypothesis states that that not using green light truly isn't the best strategy and that during the early history of Earth lots of organisms actually did use green light, and would've have appeared purple from reflecting the red and blue portions of the spectrum.

I seem to recall some sci fi movie where the planet and plants were purple, but I can't quite place it. Now I'm wondering whether their choice of color was scientifically informed.

Sort:  

It made y'all and @sco think of different scifi stories, it definitely seems like a trope.

Funny thing here is I did brought back such images while reading and I could not remember which films they were from or whether my mind built them...

Yeah, exactly. Maybe we're just thinking of Thanos :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86