You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Defining time with atomic fountains

Disappointing title this time. No innuendos. 😔

As a philosopher, I was hoping for a philosophically deeper definition of time. The concept of time is controversial in my discipline (and sometimes even in yours). I tend to think that it doesn't really exist. At least not in the way we think it does. But I've far from made up my mind yet. It's quite a tricky topic.

a leap second has to be inserted once every 300 million years!

If less leaps means better clock, what about a tick-tock that makes people leap in clubs all the time?

Sorry, my jokes are bad today. (

Sort:  

As a philosopher, I was hoping for a philosophically deeper definition of time.

This is why you should write about it. I am only here for the physics part :)

The concept of time is controversial in my discipline (and sometimes even in yours).

Well. time is uniquely defined. Or at least the second is. But as soon as one starts to live in the world of the elementary particles, time is not special anymore and behave as any other spatial dimension. So here, I would not say anything is controversial bu instead well defined.

If less leaps means better clock, what about a tick-tock that makes people leap in clubs all the time?

Argh... :D

ah, i suffer from the same problem. I see time as something defined by men (or women, let's say sapients) in order to be able to measure and describe the changes in systems but it actually has or is no force of it's own, just like numbers are needed in order to measure, but they don't exist in the physical universe. I've been yanking the man's chain about it several times lol, and here's the article. A bit more like that and i'm gonna blush .. :))

Well, in terms of physics time is very well defined. And I have tried to explain how. The rest is philosophy ;)

If less leaps means better clock, what about a tick-tock that makes people leap in clubs all the time?

Lol...

I'd love to read about your views on time someday sir.

Some day some day maybe ;)

Hello dear friend, your post is very awesome, I recently joined to steem and met your blog, I really like your posts cause i like physics, cosmology,... as like you. I upvoted and follow you, please see my blog to support each other. thanks for sharing useful and beautiful posts. have good time.

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Thanks for passing by.

I noted that you have sent a similar message to many many steemians. This is not the best way to get followers and upvotes; it could even got you some flags (not by me today but I know some people who could).

IMO, the best way is to engage people sharing similar interests to yours, without begging for upvotes/followe, and the rest will come by itself.

Now of course, you can do what you want. This was just my two cents ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97