You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A closer look at Genital Mutilation aka Circumcision

Penn & Teller have a nice episode on circumcision. Here's a snippet.

It's an interesting topic of discussion as I live in a part of the world where practically no one has circumcision, and hearing people talk about it sounds so foreign to me - like why would anyone ever do that? And talk of "medical benefits" makes little sense: are most people in my country sick as a result of having their foreskin intact?

It seems like the reason behind the practice, originally, was to lower sexual pleasure in those parts of the world where it's considered a bad thing, and then later habit and also the profit motive by the people who perform it kept the practice in place.

Sort:  

It seems like the reason behind the practice, originally, was to lower sexual pleasure in those parts of the world where it's considered a bad thing

Well, report actually has it that removing the foreskin makes sex to be more enjoyable to men. So if the motive is to lower libido, it's a counterproductive move in the case of men but it sounds plausible in that of women.

are most people in my country sick as a result of having their foreskin intact?
The medical benefits do not necessarily mean having the foreskin makes you sick. It is mostly in terms of preventive. Research has it that it lowers the chances of contracting HIV and some other stds.

I think the consensus of several scientists is that the pros in having a man circumcised far outweighs the cons, so I don't see a problem in that except the pains associated with the procedure and the competence of the person performing it. As for the female circumcision, it has no known pros as far as I'm concerned.

Well, report actually has it that removing the foreskin makes sex to be more enjoyable to men.

Interesting! But I can't make sense of it. Removing the skin makes the head of the penis less sensitive. I don't know how being less sensitive increases pleasure — though it could perhaps increase women's pleasure since it could make men last longer :P

I think the consensus of several scientists is that the pros in having a man circumcised far outweighs the cons

Well that's interesting and it's what I got from the post as well. I guess I'll have to add that in my to-research list in the future, because right now I'm suspicious as to the potential motives! You understand it's a very lucrative industry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63