Goodbye Battery Powered Mower, Hello, Corded Mower!

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

When I told you guys about my Kobalt 40v battery powered lawn mower, I expected it to work out just fine. Only for it to take 8(!) battery swaps to get through my lawn. That was with wet, tall grass though. I thought I'd wait a week and give it another chance to see how it dealt with just one week's growth.

It required 3 battery swaps to get the job done this time. It won't be that way for everyone though. @anarchoandrei bought the same mower, and with his smaller yard apparently it does the job. Mows the entire lawn on a single battery. I'm happy for him, but it's just not working out for me, so back to the store it goes!

Now, let's not go crazy here. You guys know me. I will never, ever settle for a gas mower. I would sooner buy some goats and have them eat the grass than go back to mowing with gas. Instead I did what I should have done in the first place, and got myself the corded mower with the highest review scores on Amazon:

As it turns out, 150 feet of extension cord is just exactly, precisely enough to reach every part of the yard with a little to spare for comfort. It's really not that much. I'll be keeping the Kobalt battery powered trimmer and blower as they do fine even on the little 2.5ah battery the trimmer came with.

For mowing however, it's going to be corded until I have the cash for the battery operated robotic mower I've had my eye on. That will do 90% of the yard, then I'll do the 10% it can't reach using the corded mower.

Having tested it out, I'm glad I bought the 10 amp model. It was only $120 brand new! I mean, it does feel a little weak but it never choked up on me. 10 amp extension cord, surprisingly, is a good deal cheaper than 13 amp extension cord in large quantities.

If I'd gotten a $600 Ego 56v battery mower it would have done the entire lawn in one charge no problem. That just felt like an insane amount to spend given I might not even be in this house long enough for it to be worth pouring so much money into a lawn mower.

Anyway this thing does a great job. It's lightweight, so not strenuous to push and for obvious reasons, will never run out of power before the job's done. It's a small disappointment that I couldn't go battery power on my budget, but with SBD doing confusing backflips recently perhaps I soon will be able to.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
For small gardens this might be a good solution! But for big ones I think your solution #1 might work better!

Cheers~

I would sooner buy some goats and have them eat the grass than go back to mowing with gas.

This part killed me. 😂😂😂

Be patient my brother, may this event be a valuable lesson for us. Whatever is discussed with high reviews in Amazon, may not necessarily work as our expectations.

There has been a misunderstanding. The new corded mower had good reviews. The old battery powered one did not.

Ops !! I'm sorry Alex for this misunderstanding.

Poor Mower. But what else, than you are dizzy about grass. Looks like you've been able to find another alternative to your tall and wet grass, @alexbeyman.

I'm happy for him, but it's just not working out for me, so back to the store it goes!

That’s what I love about US. Even if you use it, you can return it. Not everywhere are customers treated like that. When you motioned the goats 🐐 there is actualy company renting goats specifically for this purpose. Seriously!

I think you have a bad luck in mower.8 battaries that's crazy man. Hope the corded one will give you a good service.

It was just 2 batteries. I used one while charging the other. I had to swap between the two 8 times to finish with tall, wet grass. Still not acceptable of course.

what is the weight of corded mower? is it more or less mobility? as well i would like the idea of super powering the wheel motors to make it move alot quicker. (swap them out, if doing so breaks them for ones that are better fitted for the higher speed)

It is very light. That made me skeptical about the power, but it was enough. I won't say "plenty" but it never stopped cutting even when I ran over some thick growth.

The battery mower did have motorized wheels! It was 'self-propelled'. That was a nice feature I am going to miss, as the corded one doesn't have it.

Well the corded mower you show in the picture looks nice mate, and it is incredible the amount of energy needed with the first mower, that didn't sound very efficient in my opinion.

I'm happy for you, because at last you got the right one and because of that you will not have to buy a goat anymore it would be something crazy.

I'm glad that problem solved there, if you were buying some goats the problem would be worse, because with the mower you would only have to deal with the battery, but instead with the goats it would be a safe problem with which you rent the house and with your neighbors and the flowers in your yard will disappear, the investment you made was better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62