You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s Talk About Why We Experience JetLags

in #steemstem6 years ago

I approve the science behind it, you know I am a sleep freak and studied a lot about it.
I have a very strange sleep cycle and I don't experience jetlag. I haven't traveled a lot yet, but I can sleep at any hour of day and night and fall asleep and I usually sleep 6 hours per night. Also traveling on a plane means sleep time for me :) So when I get to my destination, I am already rested and because I usually sleep at off hours I think my circadian rhythm is used to this.

Just my 2 cents, your article is very in depth and comprehensive.
Good job on writing it.

Unrelated: What is sndbox? I keep seeing people writing in it but haven't actually researched it.

Sort:  

I am almost the polar opposite. I can never sleep on planes and feel pretty bad for a few days if I have to change the time I sleep/ wake up. A few years ago my rhythms were more ' flexible', I had trained my body that it needed to make it to the nightclub at 3 AM

Same here @flyyingkiwi! As for the first part of your comment.

Surprisingly not everyone experiences jetlags. There are genes that are responsible for jet lag; The Lhx1 gene. These genes are mutated in some people and they can’t experience jet lags. You just might be one of them @alexdory.

Will read about the Lhx1 gene!

Along with my three kidneys, that would explain a lot of why at the end of a clubnight I would be sober and awake :D

Because you are a mutant @alexdory! 😂😘

I was not kidding about the kidneys!
It's not something to say at parties, I know, but it's pretty common as the doctors say! 😂

Oh! I see... gosh ... and here I go, learning yet something else from you :D (that 3 kidneys can occur naturally!) 😊

I still don't fully believe it, but everytime I do an echo I shut up about it and everytime a different doctor tells me that one is either very thick or I have two.
Always cracks me up! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72