Sort:  

Thanks Alex. I am still trying to figure out things around here. :)

It's simple:

  • don't do anything stupid, like plagiarism, copy-paste or similar
  • write about the things you really know (fossils, not space rockets)
  • make it personal, but leave some advanced cool facts (check @dber)
  • join the community, find steemstem on Discord
  • have fun! Seriously, use this platform as the substitute for Facebook, make some friends :)

I'm still not quite sure how all of the Steem Power and Steem Dollars work. I tried reading the FAQ, but it's mostly Greek to me. I am a total noob with blockchain and cryptocurrency. For example, what is that dollar amount attached to the posts? And I have no idea how to exchange any of this stuff for real money.

"Screen dollars" are the combination of steem (that could become steem power) and SBD (steem dollars). In the beginning, put everything you earn into the power (until you earn at least 100) and make the connections with people. Hang on chat. Come to Discord. Publish max 1 post per day.

The key is to get the attention of those with high power, or the communities, trails...

The amount you see is worth about 50 USD :)
You convert steem/sbd into the lite, ETH or BTC.
And than you convert those to US dollars.

Thanks for the explanation. That makes sense. So, do I need to sign up for a cryptocurrency account at one of the major exchanges? I didn't sign up for Steemit to make money, but I certainly wouldn't turn it down. It would be nice to make a little cash from my posts. Is there a preferred wallet/account/website for doing this? Like I said, I know almost nothing about cryptocurrency.

do I need to sign up for a cryptocurrency account at one of the major exchanges

yes

Is there a preferred wallet/account/website for doing this?

it depends in what country you live

I just signed up for Kraken and Bittrex. It all seems very confusing, but I think I will get the hang of it soon. Thanks for the info. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85