You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Un peu d’archéologie cosmique à l’aide d’ondes gravitationnelles

in #steemstem6 years ago

un petit peu clickbait

Good strategy...

I have a long-shot (probably pointless) amateur question.

Recently we had some posts devoted to clouds that behave as the solitons. So I've just googled "gravitational soliton" and ok, there is something.

Now my long-shot stupidity: is there a possibility to find some really strange phenomena related to soliton waves, like standing breathers, or something even more strange?

Sort:  

Great question! I however don't know...

I found this but this is maybe not what you have in mind. We also have soliton solutions to the equations of Einstein, and possibly this could be interesting. This second one seems to potentially answer your question :)

I may read those papers later next week and we can rediscuss, if you want.

Thank you for the great "morning coffee literature"
Spoiler Alert for those who like to be stunned while reading the papers

The first paper was friendly for non-physics people. Different objects are producing solitons of different compactness. Nice to know, although I haven't understood why are they asymmetrical.

The second one had a mindblowing sentence:

the gravitational wave is absent. However, these electromagnetic waves produce some running longitudinal deformations of spacetime (of metric components on (t, x)-plane).

I guess that this is the answer to my question

There may be other papers. Will continue looking, but not now (waiting for boarding a flight, which is not that practical ;) ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90