You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bizarre Natural Phenomena Vol. 55 - When The Sea Goes Down The Drain (Whirlpools)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Cool stuff indeed. In the philippines there are interesting stories and myths about where whirlpools come from. Some magical sea creatures that eats kids who swim to far from the shore. 😑😑😑🙄...well according to my mom when i was 5

Sort:  

Whirlpool stories and legends can be found in many cultures, literature, poetry, films, paintings...
Your mum is wise, you should listen to her, perhaps there are monsters in there but we still haven't spotted them yet :P

too right on the stories. There's Charbydis, of course, and Edgar Allen Poe has a very thrilling short story, A Descent into the Maelström.

The Niagara falls whirlpool is pretty neat because it's in a river system, so it's fairly continuous. There actually has two neat ways of viewing it besides from the cliffside (it's in a gorge) - there's a cable car which takes you above the pool and, for the brave, there's a jetboat which goes into it. It's not a classic looking maelstrom, but cool nonetheless.

Well yeah...i believed her and that indeed scared me 😂 thats how she keeps me from going too far from the shore.

Stories say creatures called "syokoy" are responsible for it. They are described as green-skinned creatures that have scaly body coverings, webbed hands and feet and they have fins 😫😫😫

Like ugly scary..male versions of mermaids 🤣

Those sound a bit a like kappa - do they have turtle shells?

They dont haha omg turtle shells? Thats weird

Yep, kappa are from Japanese mythology. I'll link in a public domain image below, but a google image search will give you a really good idea of what they are supposed to look like. Fun fact, they inspired the the koopa troopas from Mario Bros.

Kyoka_Hyaku-Monogatari_Kappa.jpg

Saw this on the net. This is how philippine legends describe it

images (2).jpegt

That's pretty cool. Having seen it, it reminds me more of the Creature from the Black Lagoon, fish people from HP Lovecraft, and/or the Sahah/Sahaguin from Final Fantasy and D&D.

Geeez theyre creepy

I would swear I had replied on your comment, but it turns out I hadn't. I'm sorry @effofex! And I just remembered why, I went on youtube to watch videos of the Niagara falls cable car and I must have fallen asleep. I'm so sorry!

As for that Poe's story, I need to read it, I have a book with his stories, but haven't finished it.

Ha, happy to help you fall asleep.

The story was thrilling - but I was about 10 or so when I read it. Not sure how it would stand up to adult eyes.

It is just tiring, busy days I'm having, it's easy to forget things or doze off, don't take it personally :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88