Asthma

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

During my time in high school, several of my female classmates had classmate and it was not an uncommon sight to see three to four people's symptoms being triggered. My friends and I used to make jokes about how only the pretty girls had asthma. Even in the my first year in the University, I was on my way to an exam hall when I saw a mate I had never spoken to slump. I had to rush her to the school clinic, which made me arrive late for that paper. Needless to say, I arrived late for that paper and I was not giving any extra time by the invigilators. I guess I was lucky they allowed me in.

Asthma is a chronic disease of the airways of the lungs which involves the tightening of the muscles around the airway, obstructing the passage of air when an individual's symptoms are triggered.

Picture Source

Symptoms Of Asthma

The symptoms of asthma may vary from one patient to another but these are some of the most common ones:

  • Chronic coughs
  • Shortness of breath
  • Wheezing
  • Tightness in the chest

Treatment Of Asthma

Currently, asthma has no known cure but the following can be applied in the management of the symptoms:

  • Avoiding and eliminating exposure to triggers which bring about the symptoms

  • Yoga

  • Medications

Further Reading Sources

Sort:  

Congratulations @archdemon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59