Sort:  

It is mind blowing to consider the forces involved. Very exciting stuff. I got your confirmation on Discord. Thanks. See you over there sometime soon. :-)
I just bought a canon 70-300 mm lens today. It may help me to get some decent images while I consider which telescope to invest in.

Great :-)
I started first with a Sigma 100-300 f4. This was a great lens but unfortunately very heavy.
Don't choose the telescope too big, this makes it a lot easier when you start. :-)
And the most important thing in astrophotography is the mount. Which you also can use with your camera and lens ;-)

I'm thinking about getting a motorized mount when I get the telescope so I can use it for tracking stars and also for time lapse in the daytime.
Early results from the 70-300 mm are very encouraging.
I used it yesterday to photograph some wild fowl which was tricky. I should have brought the tripod as the lens exaggerated the slightest movement as you probably know. :-)
Lucky I shot them in RAW. It saved the days shoot.

But the mounts are very heavy and unwieldy. Mine is a "medium sized" and weights around 27 kg without 10kg counterweights. Or are you looking for a small portable star tracker? That would be critical with an telescope.
I saw your post this morning, great shots :-)
Do the lense has an image stabilisation? This could help. Yes that's true, 300mm can be very shivery. RAW files leave so much room for editing, that's amazing.

I was thinking of a small portable star tracker which would be more portable. I'll have to do some in depth research to find the optimal arrangement.
I have dark skies where I live so that's good. No light pollution.
The lens has a three-stop Image stabilizer The images would have been very bad without it as you know how difficult hand held is.
Still a tripod would have been helpful. Next time I'll use one :-)

That's true, it's very difficult to use without image stabilization. Even when you push the trigger it will wiggle.
When I you start with a small and portable one the Skywatcher Star Tracker should be very fine. Some mobile photographer in Germany uses it. Maybe it could also handle a very small telescope.

That looks like a good solution and it will take my camera and a small guide scope. I'll go and take a look at one in the shops. Thanks Kevin. :-)

I had an Astrotrac in the beginning. But it took not lang and I wanted to have something bigger :-D
For the beginning, I think you won't need a guide scope. A guide scope needs a guiding camera and the guiding camera needs a notebook.
I would just start unsing the Star Tracker with around 100 mm focal length. When you are able to make a good polar alignment and you still get round stars at 3 minutes, then try a bigger focal length. When you are at 300 mm and want to have more than 1 to 1.5 or 2 minutes exposure time, then a guiding scope is necessary. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78