You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dysprosium grows: The Milpa Experiment

in #steemstem6 years ago

Is the Milpa crop growing system any different than the similar "Three Sisters" grown in North America? I was taught from a young age about how the Native Americans of the Northeast US would grow squash, corn, and beans together. Clearly it's the same idea, I was just wondering why it has a specific name for South America.

Sort:  

Hey @barton26,

I don't think so, it seems to be the very same system! I tried to find out since when the Milpa is grown, but could only find that has been part by the Mayan culture for several centuries. I also noticed therefore that it is not South, but Central America where it came from (geography, ahem... ;) ) and updated this in the post. I think there was some exchange between the Mayas and the Native Americans, and especially effective agriculture can spread rather quickly. I can not tell you at this point who copied whom, but I will try to find out!

Glad I could help correct the post! It does make sense that the knowledge of these crop growing techniques could have easily spread across the Americas. Thank you for the knowledge :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69420.53
ETH 3671.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23