You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hyperinflation of mental diseases - The way we people see ourselves?

in #steemstem5 years ago

This issue touches me somewhat deeply. My brother suffered some form of abuse throughout his childhood. It was not called 'abuse' but 'discipline' where we come from. It translated into beatings with belts because he was being rebellious. He grew up to need psychological help and psychiatric meds. My mother never told me this, my brother did. To this day I am still angry at her about it, but will not confront her to protect my brother's secret. Now, he's into drugs, nothing 'hard' but it's still a method for escaping.
My point being, societies can be ill too... When society forces you into taking a medication that will take half of your uniqueness and anull it, only for the benefit of itself, then society is ill, society is intollerant, society is not inclusive of its members, but has forgotten what it really is.

That being said, I once watched a video about a young man who had what medicine calls mental disorders. In his search for a cure, he was led into shamanism and discovered that disorders like his would've caused him to be chosen as a shaman in ancient spiritual practices. So what he had is neither new nor a completely bad thing. It's a contextual issue.

Finally, I wanted to show you this video, which changed for me the way I see the world, or western world, actually. Maybe you will enjoy it!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lbj2kMgkqdbWyL24qDZMvdvR4_63T8Ef

Sort:  

I cannot answer you, I got sick and must stay in bed. Just wanted to let you know.

I hope you get well soon :) thank you for taking time to tell me (but you shouldn't have!!!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90