You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Lab Chronicles - Day 1, The Piranhas are Coming

in #steemstem6 years ago

This is an AWESOME post! This is the first up close study I have seen conducted on the impacts on estrogen on fish. I have heard others on amphibians. Also I would assume your lab has a desiccator as well as a scale with 4 glass sides? If by infrared measurements do you mean Infrared spectroscopy?

Sort:  

Thank you very much @csusbgeochem1! Actually I am not really interested in the impact of estrogen on fish haha! This is about designing a SAM that can be attached to a gold sufrace and carry a modified enzyme to polymerize estrogen that is found in water in order to cause it to precipitate out. In short, I am hopefully creating a new type of water filters, that may be used on an industrial scale in the future. Yes my lab has a desiccator, but I do not need that because I clean the surface of the gold substrates and they then stay in solution most of the time. Especially after the MUAM is attached to the surface, the whole thing is really stable (it can stay functional in ethanol for months).
And yes, I am using attenuated total internal reflection infrared spectroscopy as well as external reflection. We will also be using x-ray photoelectron emission, but since we need to perform those experiments at another university, we have to use ATR and external reflection to veryify that a SAM is present first (just so we do not waste anybodys time and resources).
Seriously though, I appreciate your interest and questions! I would have upvoted your post twice but that is not possible haha. CHeers!

Thank you for the reply! this filter your designing sounds like a really great idea. The articles i read concerning this subject stated it was mostly due to humans. I will be following along more often.

I would believe that is possible! However I read that "the pill" is not a major contributor (I referenced an article somewhere stating this). So I am assuming that the main source is unfiltered industrial wastewater and agriculture. Thank you for actually caring about my research! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87