You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NATURE INSPIRED INVENTIONS --- Dams; and man stooped to learn from the little engineers of the animal kingdom.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Amazing as always @whileponderin!

I had never realized the relation between beavers and dams.

With this castoreum, it waterproofs' it's thick fur, thus it doesn't get wet under water.

I had no clue they did that, interesting little animals for sure :D.

The fact they design their dams according to the speed of water is surprising as well, I didn't expect they were as smart as taking that factor into consideration for their construction.

It must be very humbling for us the amount of things we can learn just by looking at different animals or insects.

Cheers @whileponderin!

Sort:  

It marvels me how these little animals (beavers) are very smart, up to the extent of putting into consideration things I thought only humans could put into consideration when building stuffs. Whenever I come across amazing behaviours like this, I can help but think that one of the lessons nature aims at teaching us is to be humble.. Am really glad you stopped by @dedicatedguy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84