You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could a Neuroscientist understand a Microprocessor?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Now this is the kind of articles I am waiting for! Great read.
Regarding this statement, let me ask something:

So can a Neuroscientist understand a Microprocessor?
NO!

A neuroscientist (or a team of engineers) IMHO can understand a microprocessor. Correct me if I am wrong. Why am I saying so? Because we have lot many examples of teams reverse engineering microprocessors and creating clones. I am sure you might have heard of this. I would like to hear your opinion on this.

Sort:  

Hey,
I am absolutely sure that a Neuroscientist can understand how a microprocessor works, this article just shows that the'tools of neuroscience aren't apt at reverse engineering. Afterall an fMRI machine is an increadible feat of engineering, so there are plenty of neuroscientists with physics and engineering backgrounds. If you have the methods and knowledge of engineering at your disposal than you can reverse engineer a microprocessor. But these methods aren't applicable to the brain. So I'm pretty sure if the question was: Could an engineer understand the brain? than the results would be just as grim (if not worse). The point is simply that a microprocessor should be easier to decipher than the brain, since it has an intentionally built purpose. This goes to show what a needle-in-the haystack modern data-driven neuroscience is. I am pretty sure we need more theories as a compose to help us connect the dots quicker. Hope that answers your querries.

Yes. you answered my query very well. Thank you. Nice to meet you btw.. :) Its great to see quality writers in steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91