Studying fluctuations in proteins from Molecular Dynamics trajectories

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Finally, someone explained RMSD. I have been wondering about it since my college days. Great post.

How dare you reduce my dimensions 😂

But But... I had asked your permission ages back :P

You forgot it seems.

Awww xD

Even cuter than my Caenorhabditis

Dexterdev, thank you for the post actually worth reading

Have you tried with other techniques for dimensionality reduction?

Dexterdev, thank you for the post actually worth reading

Welcome. <3

I have tried tSNE technique once.

For PCA... Your 1st and 2nd component took only 35 + 20% of variance, which is very low.

ICA is usually more resistant to noise. Or... Try something for sparse analysis, it might work better

I was attending a recent workshop about Free energy calculations and Enhanced sampling techniques in MD simulations. t-ICA technique seems to be a nice method. A talk which I attended there. It may be of your interest: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IGVLyzYtDUqUBy_4LLrdTNLtOywV2fXu/view

Thanks man!

welcome :) I remembered you(and this thread) when the speaker started talking about ICA :)

Completely agreed. I mentioned this is as a caveat. This example was for illustration purpose. I have seen papers with ICA analysis.

I know, PCA is as popular as Kardashians. Nobody knows why - it simply is :D

I think because it is very simple and intuitive. Dimensionality reduction topics starts with pca





This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @utopian-io and @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting all three projects for witness by selecting stem.witness, utopian-io and curie!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Hi @dexterdev!

Your post was upvoted by Utopian.io in cooperation with @steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88