You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Superconductors - Fundamental Properties - Part 1

in #steemstem6 years ago

Very extensive and informative article! If I were you I would probably separate this post in two parts, because I have noticed that large articles are not read by many people, especially the more technical ones. So in order for your work to be more appreciated, I'd suggest you split it in two parts...

You explain a lot of things here and although I am not very familiar with many of the concepts you have talked about, it still has cleared many questions I had. One thing, I didn't quite understand if there is any voltage when current passes through point C during Josephson effect? If no voltage passes, is there a maximum distance between the two superconductors that allows this?

Sort:  

Thanks for the advice. This is a first article in a series so is already being split up haha.

To answer your questions, there is a negligible voltage produced, if voltage was produced by this effect then we could use it as a free energy device. The two important properties for electrical energy is the current (number of electrons) and the voltage (like a force pushing the electrons).
As for the second question the weak link is usually of the order of nanometers. The max distance would depend on the SC's and the link, I can't give a value but this effect doesn't occur for centimeter distances.

Thanks for the questions.

I'm also a bit unfamiliar with some of the concepts, but it helps a lot when the theory is linked to something concrete like superconductors. Interesting read and I will be back for part two.

Thank you. I can't wait to read your series!

No problem at all. See you around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67476.14
ETH 3776.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52