You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Gender Stereotypes Accurate?

in #steemstem5 years ago

I went to a college where I was told that gender is a social construct, nature doesn't matter at all, that there's really no difference between men and women ...

The exaggeration has been necessary in times when there has already been an exaggerated social model of man and woman: Marriage in connection with the lack of women's property rights. I suspect that the radical feminists did not think at all about the biological nature of the sexes, it was rather a liberation movement. I would therefore also sign this sentence and ad "there are no differences in being human, neither among the sexes nor among the races."

I don't have the notion that I have been lied to, no matter what revolution puts its messages out. There is always the Hintergedanke, that it can't be that simple as it often is described or complained about in the media.

There is really no need to misunderstand that. Basically, common sense is sufficient to recognise social inequality, whether between genders or cultures.

Otherwise, for me the difference between the sexes is an observed fact, and the cutbacks I make in stereotyping, when I move in the social circle, I make in all forms where I encounter clichés that seem excessive to me. I simply correct this internally when I listen to someone who typifies. Sometimes you have to consider eighty to ninety percent of a conversation as typifying or superficial and just remember or listen to the rest - or even only pick up the underlying message.

I have fallen for myself often enough or have typified where I personally have a story that was either stressful or idealizing. Anyway, one doesn't need to believe most of what one thinks. HaHa! Many of my own assessments and evaluations have turned out to be wrong or rather obstructive, so that over the years I have become more cautious with them.

I can't say why the whole gender issue is still hot. I think it has to do with an interest in people in themselves.

Differences are usually something good, I think. To marginalize these differences is probably more of a difficult habit. I think there are two things that have nothing in common. The gender difference and the equality of people don't have to be brought into opposition. But this was and still is done and we see how little it benefits.

Your and other contributions will hopefully help to ensure that gender differences are neither exaggerated nor underestimated. As always, it depends on the individual case you have in front of you. It is to be assumed that especially in groups the person who leads the group understands this artfully and understands to lead all male and all female participants in their individuality instead of using the same comb. Hopefully people in leading positions will realize how much more fun it is to work with groups when they use other methods and inspirations. Which are available. But I guess for the rest everyone has to seek their own inspirational path in order to gain more then the average.

Looking forward to part 2 of this theme.
Greetings to Cyprus.

Sort:  

I can't say why the whole gender issue is still hot. I think it has to do with an interest in people in themselves.

It's a very hot issue in the US, and it therefore spills out into Europe as well. Many say it (i.e. political correctness) is one of the main reasons Trump got elected. The Bill Maher clip I linked to in the conclusion section is funny and it's about that general issue.

The gender difference and the equality of people don't have to be brought into opposition.

Agreed!

Greetings to Germany!

It's swimming season here now!

I watched the clip and read the explanation about the Snowflake generation. Again, I don't think it's that easy to generalize the generations. A lot of things seemed to me to be right while reading and I could confirm in parts that the resilience and the acceptance of people to face the imponderables of life courageously has decreased due to the amenities of modern existence. I rather wonder whether these are not always strong collective mental constructions. Again and again I come back to the individual case, which simply does not want to fit into a stereotyping. Even without a clear definition, it seems clear to all of us that we do recognize when human exceptions to innovation and behavior present themselves to us: as unusual and in part provocative. Only in the interaction with a person who you perceive as adapted and corresponding to a type can you see whether a deviation from the typical can be influenced. My conviction is that if I myself am trapped in typical behaviour and reaction patterns, the interaction does not produce anything new and I and my counterpart remain "true" to our type. In a way, we have also chosen or accustomed ourselves to "playing" it ourselves. To choose another character and consciously keep it is like a play in which you have to discipline yourself to be someone completely different and yet integrate that part in such a way that it can become a constant part of the personality. So I don't see it as a compliment if someone who has known me for a long time would tell me: You haven't changed at all!

From this point of view, my female gender seems to me to be of little importance, it is only one of many facets.

There are always problems when I exaggerate or understate an identification that I consider significant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50