You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Analogue or Digital Multimeter, Which Should I Choose? A Beginners' Guide To The Multimeter #2

in #steemstem5 years ago

First I'd like to commend you on the pretty comprehensive work you've done here. I see you are a big fan of the analogue multimeters but there a few points I respectfully beg to disagree on.

So if you want to measure any electrical quantity and sensitivity is your priority; the analogue multi-meter should be preferred.

I am afraid I have to disagree that an analogue meter of the same quality of its digital counterpart is in any way more sensitive. A digital meter can be precise to four decimal places and more. E.g. how can you tell a voltage of a battery is 12.2305V if you measure with an analogue meter?

troubleshooting of complex circulatory, using analogue multi-meter should be considered.

Again I cannot entirely agree with the above. If analogue meters are that good, the majority of modern measuring instrument won't have a digital meter display; instead, they will still be in the analogue era.

Maximum concentration is needed while using analogue meter. their is a high probability(probability close to 1, that people suffering from any eye defect will commit error due to parallax while taking reading from calibrated scales

I do agree with this one, part of the reason we are moving away from the analogue era to digital.

Keep on contributing to the steem community we do appreciate every one of us that do. Thank you.

Sort:  

Thanks for your time. If we are t measure ACV, the digital multimeter would nt show the fluctuations of the voltage being measured but the analogue would show it via a corresponding deflection.

Truly, the analogue cannot measure voltage in 3 decimals. Thanks for your enlightenment

Again I'd say you'd see fluctuations on the digital display as the voltage value rapidly changes.

Take a look at these fluctuations of voltage after a storm.
You can even tell the range of change of values which I think in this case is between 84V to 195.7V

Thanks for the video. Could it be that this particular meter is more sensitive than mine?

Well, in all fairness I do not know how sensitive either this or your meter is. But I can only say that most run-of-the-mill digital meter behaves the same way like the one in this video.

Thanks. I have made some corrections

That's awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86