You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Discussion About Climate Change – Part 1: Milankovitch Cycles

in #steemstem7 years ago

The only people whose opinion about climate change should be considered valid are those holding Doctoral Degrees in Climatology. Their position is unambiguously and nearly unanimously directly opposite to yours. The position that it is caused by factors other than burning carbon is a lie supported with vast sums of money from the fossil fuel industry.

Sort:  

You are not quite correct. it is not only carbon, but also other stuff we put in the air, like methan (the famous smelly cows).

Thank you for your comment and concern. Please recognize that this is just the first part in a series of articles that I plan to write discussing climate change. The topic has too many considerations to put them all into one post. I believe most people holding Doctoral Degrees in Climatology would agree that Milankovitch cycles have influenced the climate of our planet for billions of years. Stay tuned in the coming weeks for a discussion about the burning of carbon and what impact it might have. I am doing my best to give a fair perspective from both sides, and will consider both together in the final installment of this series.

To be completely clear I very much doubt that you are conducting an objective assessment. I think it far more likely that you are pumping a political ideology or are simply a troll. I will not waste my time further with this discourse other than to say that anybody who takes you at all seriously is a fool, and I advise them to write a letter to the Chair of Climatology at any respected, accredited university. I have done so, and so should you.

The beauty of this world is that you are entitled to believe whatever you choose. I assure you I am neither a troll nor someone trying to pump a political ideology, just a geologist attempting to discuss an extremely polarizing issue. There is no need to call other people names in an attempt to undermine my credibility. I encourage you to direct your favorite Doctor of Climatology to check out the posts and see if they agree!

If you hold a Doctorate you should know better than to publish such a feeble exercise in false equivalence. Are you interested in the opinions of Gastroenterologists about tectonic plate movements? No? That's essentially what you're doing.

I think that even the climatologists you mention will agree that it is too simplistic to reduce the whole climate change issue to one single factor. This is exactly what the author is saying. There are several factors and this post discusses only one of them. The author has never said human beings were not related to the issue. The author has never said that the discussed factor was the driving one.

The nonsense that this pretend expert dispenses has been refuted countless times. As I said, get in contact with an actual climatologist. Write to the department chair at your State University. Personally I have communicated on this issue with the Chair of the National Academy of Sciences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87