You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evaporative Cooling, aka the Swamp Effect: An Energy Efficient Alternative to Air Conditioning

in #steemstem6 years ago

It's hot and humid as fuck here too. I moved into a new house at the beginning of June and found an old window AC unit on the back deck which I assumed was broken. When it got unbearable a few weeks later I remembered I had stuck it in the garage and grabbed it to see if it worked. It did! Then, I left the next day and my dumb ass left the AC cranking at full blast. I thought I was leaving for a night but I've been out of town for 10 days now and I'm not stoked to see my electricity bill.

When I get home I'm definitely making one of these and shutting that thing off. Thanks man!

Sort:  

Remember the effect only works on dry air. So you'll need to have moving airflow in your house, constantly bringing in new air from outside. This means an open window near the swamp cooler at one end of the house, and another open window at the other end with a fan moving humid air outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85