You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Effects of Caffeine on Sports Performance

in #steemstem6 years ago

Came here from steemSTEM distilled, congrats.
I did knew about the adenosine thing, but did not know it has role in endurance of athletes too. Is it for short term only or has similar effects on long term use?i suspect it has some negative health effects on prolonged use.

Sort:  

Probably the most common negative effect is the development of dependence on caffeine. Which is why even though there have been few studies that show about 2 cups of coffee a day has cardiovascular benefits (can't find the links, not even sure if the studies were done by proper medical research teams) I prefer to keep myself down to a max of one cup per day with no coffee every 2-3 days. Helped me alot to avoid getting dependent.

Yeah, I guessed the same. I couldn't find Any proper research article with solid evidence about it. Thanks for the info man :).

The body builds up a tolerance to CAF relatively quickly. For this reason, the rule of thumb is to use it infrequently.

I used to participate in competitive sport. I would often have restless nights before an event. On those 'game' days, CAF used to really help me. I do believe that if I had consumed the stimulant every day, however, the benefits would have been less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69048.48
ETH 3765.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43