You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clinical depression in focus [what does science say about brain changes if depression persists for many years]

in #steemstem6 years ago

This is a very informative and touching post. I agree with you that usually, people don't see depression as a real illness, but the truth is that it could destroy your life entirely just like a terminal illness could do.

My grandmother was clinically depressed for 5 years when I was a child. I remember her lying all day in her bed, staring at the empty room. She couldn't feel any joy of seeing her grandchildren. Fortunately, she recovered. What helped her was that she had to take care of me for 2 weeks when I was 7. This responsibility magically got her on her feet after five years of suffering.

I hope your brother and your friend get better soon!

Sort:  

Oh thanks for stopping by my dear. I'm Glad your grandmum got alright, and was able to take good care of you. However, I dont really think her case was that of "Clinical Depression (major depressive disorder)". I say this because; you dont want to leave your child with with a clinically depressed person. pls lets take a closer look at the symptoms again

People who are clinically depressed, often feels empty, anxious, hopeless, sometimes unnecessarily guilty without any explanation, loss of energy, what used to interest them, now interest them no more, regularly feeling tired with no cause, inability to remember in details, lack of concentration, insomnia, hypersomnia, irregular eating behaviour (Sometimes overeating and sometimes have no appetite for food), thoughts of suicide and suicidal attempts.

I think that of your grandma was depression or another type of depression, but I don't think it was clinical depression.

Thanks for your constructive feedback @insight-out

Yeah, you are right - you wouldn't leave your child under these circumstances. I wondered about that when I was writing my comment. So I suppose she was already getting better. It was a long process of recovery and my presence was somehow the final pull to take her out of it.

In the beginning, it was definitely very bad. She fitted perfectly in your description of clinical depression. She was even hospitalized a few times. Luckily, it is all behind now. She is 81 years old and enjoys her grandchildren and great-grandchildren :)

I would love to think that this story gives some hope to your brother and friend.

Cheers! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81