You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Human Brain. Part One: Evolution

in #steemstem6 years ago

This post is awesome

I don't know where to start from

Well let me just point out things I learnt

As you might expect from an object packed with so many neurons and connections, the brain uses a huge amount of energy. Although it only weighs 1.2-1.4 kilograms, it uses approximately 20% of the energy consumed by the body.

Was really shocked to hear this

Therefore the cognitive buffer theory holds that animals in a rapidly changing environment developed more intelligence than they needed for their daily lives, so that they were able to adapt and learn quickly when exposed to something completely new.

Hearing this for the first time but I realize how true it is when I remembered watching about a particular animal which migrated from different locations and it's brain adaptations on natgeowild

Sort:  

Hi Izzrael thanks for reading. Yeah the brain is pretty energy hungry, I also read it could only grow really big once early humans started eating meat, a vegetarian diet doesn’t have enough energy. Another reason to eat my hamburgers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79