You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Sugar More Addictive Than Cocaine: A Response to @fancybrothers and @greenrun

in #steemstem6 years ago

Most people do not know the difference between the word forte and forte, they even pronouce them the same way.

Pronounce.

Hate to be a stickler but actually, both for tay and fort are correct pronunciations for either meaning of the word forte.

Sort:  

Corrected*

And that is true in to a prescriptivist but to a descriptivist they would argue that the annunciation determines the word and therefore the definition. I tend to stick to the prescriptivist way but what I think is more interesting is that the amount of people I have told this to in person did not even know about the pronunciation as "fort, "

Now 1 thing to state though @justtryme90 is that your source uses the original Italian way of pronouncing the word meaning they suggest it is "fort-ee" not "for-tay", I mean not to be a stickler but... 😂

I mean not to be a stickler but I'm not @lemouth

Don't know what you are talking about 😂😂😂😂 My bad

;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91