You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Critical review of acupuncture as a therapeutic procedure ; can we call it a placebo?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Acupuncture is BS, pseudoscience, a sham. It’s surprising to see that you think it’s a suitable alternative to regular analgesics and NSAIDs (considering these have perfectly defined MOAs and have been proven to be reliable overtime). BHD linking organs together ? That’s a new one for me.

Mobbs debunked Qi energy and acupuncture in one of his posts. You should check it out 🌚

I wouldn’t choose to have needles stuck in me over meds tho :)

Sort:  

Mobbs debunked Qi energy and acupuncture in one of his posts

Have my doubts about qi because there is no scientific back up for it. If you call it a sham, I will definitely agree with you because it is something imaginary without any physical proof.

I am more concerned about the mechanism of actions and the real therapeutic effectiveness of acupuncture. Whether it works or not

But considering the papers and the testimonies about acupuncture, i strongly do not a believe it is a sham. The references are there above to back up my claims.

I would love your argument with scientific evidence. ☺️ especially about your stand on acupuncture being a sham.

let's make it more scientific

Do you have sources to back this up? I believe it has been observed to result in a statistically significant benefit, even if purely through placebo. However I could be misremembering.

Editing to provide a starting point:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4036643/

I at least do not misremember.

I will just leave this here:

There are indeed some studies which show a beneficial connection between acupuncture treatment after chemotherapy and its side-effects[8]. But researchers are aware of methodological weaknesses, so it can neither be confirmed nor denied, whether there is a clear indication of therapeutic benefits of acupuncture after all.

I agree with your general scepticism regarding acupuncture - I share it as well. But as it stands, it appears the correlated placebo-effect might have a positive influence in some situations.

And it does not hurt to do some research on acupuncture to try to understand if it goes beyond the placebo effect or not.

Funny to have the same discussion in 3 different places :)

The problem is we haven't had some research, we've had extensive research, and they just keep moving the goalposts, as I discuss above

Yeah, I actually don't follow closely. I agree. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72