You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Middle Stone Age of South Africa: Symbolism

in #steemstem7 years ago

„Egypt is part of Africa“ this was one of the main topics a few years ago at the „SÄK“ a german annual conference of Egyptologists. And indeed - we cannot draw geographical borders when we want to discover our human heritage. Thank you so much for this amazing series.
You know - I was waiting for the ostrich egg shells. ;) So here is my „gift“ for you: an ostrich eggshell vessel found in Dakhla oasis in the eastern egyptian sahara (Egyptian Museum Cairo, JE 98774).

(Image source: Zoest, Carolien van, Treasures of the Dakhleh Oasis: an exhibition on the occasion of the fifth International Conference of the Dakhleh Oasis Project, Cairo 2006, 23.)

By the way: these decorated shells you mentioned have been assumed to be labels marking the property of certain persons or families. (See Texier, Jean-Pierre u.a., A Howiesons Poort Tradition of Engraving Ostrich Eggshell Containers Dated to 60,000 Years ago at Diepkloof Rock Shelter, South Africa, in: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 107, Nr. 14, 2010, 6180–6185).

Dig on and (hopefully) produce a lot of steem! ;)

Sort:  

Wow, I'm impressed with the knowledge and sharing in this group. I could be here all day reading the different posts.

Thank you! 🌸
I hope that especially the archaeology community will grow in future.

Yes, there's a lot of information coming out now, with Genetic sequencing, NGS..

Hello my favourite Egyptologist, Thank you firstly so much for a truly amazing comment . I absolutely love my gift and thank so much. The artwork is astounding, to say the least. I will definitely read up on the information you have provided. I catch up with soon on SteemSTEM chat:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66938.10
ETH 3118.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81